RMG's Friends

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
RastaManGames
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:13 pm
Discord: ℝ𝕒𝕀π•₯π•’π•„π•’π•Ÿπ”Ύπ•’π•žπ•–π•€#4168
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russian Federation, Krasnoyarsk

RMG's Friends

Post by RastaManGames »



First of all, I want to show my gratitude to user NeenerWiener for this nice work that he done with ZScript.
Without his beautiful efforts and surgery work with coding this small abominations was not possible at all.

This is just reskinned "Doomguy Companion" mod with few cosmetic changes.
Spoiler: Stalker
Spoiler: Operator
Spoiler: Chick
Spoiler: Thug
Spoiler: Delta
Spoiler: Guard
Spoiler: Ranger
Spoiler: Lara
Spoiler: Alpha
Spoiler: Helga
Last edited by RastaManGames on Tue Aug 09, 2022 3:58 am, edited 59 times in total.
User avatar
r&r
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:54 pm

Re: Friend Stalker [V0.1]

Post by r&r »

By fun to use for horror maps
is there a way to make a 3d model version of this?

This mod and friend doom guy mod don't work together
as it says it these files exist already error

"FreindStalkerV0-1.pk3:nnr_zscript/nnr_friend.zsc, line 1: Class name
NNR_FriendStalker already exist"

and did that 4 times
about nnr_spawner.zsc and nnr_taunt.zsc and nnr_friend.zsc again
User avatar
RastaManGames
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:13 pm
Discord: ℝ𝕒𝕀π•₯π•’π•„π•’π•Ÿπ”Ύπ•’π•žπ•–π•€#4168
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russian Federation, Krasnoyarsk

Re: Friend Stalker [V0.1]

Post by RastaManGames »

Tried to clean up my mess and cover up entire operation.
Please, re-download my mod and check out if it can be loaded along with "Doomguy Companion".
I hope, that conflict was resolved successfully.

About 3D model:
Short answer - Yes, it can be done, but not for this moment...
Long answer - For me this is really unknown sphere of GZDoom modding and I even don't have experience with something like Blender. At this state it can took several weeks (at least) for me to do something crazy like this. Maybe in unforeseen future I can try.
User avatar
r&r
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:54 pm

Re: Friend Stalker [V0.1]

Post by r&r »

RastaManGames wrote:Tried to clean up my mess and cover up entire operation.
Please, re-download my mod and check out if it can be loaded along with "Doomguy Companion".
I hope, that conflict was resolved successfully.

About 3D model:
Short answer - Yes, it can be done, but not for this moment...
Long answer - For me this is really unknown sphere of GZDoom modding and I even don't have experience with something like Blender. At this state it can took several weeks (at least) for me to do something crazy like this. Maybe in unforeseen future I can try.
It works now, doom guy and stalker are workable now.

Ah I see well there are Quake stuff mods with full 3d models
those might help you? or a idea to create a Ranger Friend mod
https://www.doomworld.com/forum/topic/9 ... v12-final/
at least to understand the 3d models script for gzdoom
User avatar
NeenerWiener
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:50 pm

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by NeenerWiener »

Wow these are great! Really fun to have them all help you out in tough maps. :mrgreen:
User avatar
r&r
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:54 pm

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by r&r »

The Lara sprite is from
http://www.doomlegends.com/emporium/conv2.html
and it says converted by Chris Kaylor

This is a old but still active doom sprites/skin site,
so that's the only source info about the Lara sprite/skin.
User avatar
RastaManGames
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:13 pm
Discord: ℝ𝕒𝕀π•₯π•’π•„π•’π•Ÿπ”Ύπ•’π•žπ•–π•€#4168
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russian Federation, Krasnoyarsk

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by RastaManGames »

r&r wrote:The Lara sprite is from
http://www.doomlegends.com/emporium/conv2.html
and it says converted by Chris Kaylor
I updated information in main post.
User avatar
r&r
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:54 pm

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by r&r »

RastaManGames wrote:
r&r wrote:The Lara sprite is from
http://www.doomlegends.com/emporium/conv2.html
and it says converted by Chris Kaylor
I updated information in main post.
Can I suggest something?
for friends mods with multiple customizable settings/sliders,
can you make a default button to reset it back what it originally is?
User avatar
RastaManGames
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:13 pm
Discord: ℝ𝕒𝕀π•₯π•’π•„π•’π•Ÿπ”Ύπ•’π•žπ•–π•€#4168
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russian Federation, Krasnoyarsk

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by RastaManGames »

r&r wrote:Can you make a default button to reset it back what it originally is?
I... I don't really understand what do you mean by that... :oops:
User avatar
r&r
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:54 pm

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by r&r »

RastaManGames wrote:
r&r wrote:Can you make a default button to reset it back what it originally is?
I... I don't really understand what do you mean by that... :oops:
Sorry, like the sliders for lara
how much items she drops and talk
if someone forgot what was the original settings was,
there's a button to reset it back what the default was.
User avatar
RastaManGames
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:13 pm
Discord: ℝ𝕒𝕀π•₯π•’π•„π•’π•Ÿπ”Ύπ•’π•žπ•–π•€#4168
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russian Federation, Krasnoyarsk

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by RastaManGames »

I don't think there is exist a need in this, to be honest.
For idle chatter, medicals and flares you can set from 10 seconds to 1 minute.
For minimum light level there is "middle" parameter 128 between 0 and 256.
User avatar
r&r
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:54 pm

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by r&r »

RastaManGames wrote:I don't think there is exist a need in this, to be honest.
For idle chatter, medicals and flares you can set from 10 seconds to 1 minute.
For minimum light level there is "middle" parameter 128 between 0 and 256.
Ah ok thanks
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:25 pm
Discord: Nonemployee#1013
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by mamaluigisbagel »

I'm slightly disappointed there's not (possibly optional) voice lines for Ranger from Quake Champions, but its not a deal breaker. I still loved trying him out and had fun with it!

Will add while I haven't had this happen with a companion in this pack, the Doomguy and Duke companions crashed when playing with Corruption Cards, so just a PSA to anyone else that if you use that and it crashes, that's probably why.


EDIT: Played a bit with Embers of Armageddon, and using the Berserk (which instantly kills whatever you punch no matter the health) I punched Ranger out of existence for the rest of the level lol
User avatar
RastaManGames
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:13 pm
Discord: ℝ𝕒𝕀π•₯π•’π•„π•’π•Ÿπ”Ύπ•’π•žπ•–π•€#4168
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russian Federation, Krasnoyarsk

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by RastaManGames »

mamaluigisbagel wrote:Will add while I haven't had this happen with a companion in this pack, the Doomguy and Duke companions crashed when playing with Corruption Cards, so just a PSA to anyone else that if you use that and it crashes, that's probably why.
I did several lucky runs along with "Corruption Cards", but one or two times there was crashes, indeed.
Honestly, i don't know, why, just because i had so much addons in auto-load section of my config *.ini (like "Target Spy", "DamNums", "MK-Crits", "Droplets", "NashGore", "Universal Gibs" and etc.)
To be honest, sometimes i just want to start from new & clean instance of GZDoom...
For me GZDoom became a "Garry's Mod" or even "Skyrim" in a way of "Mod it, until it crashes!"
mamaluigisbagel wrote:I'm slightly disappointed there's not (possibly optional) voice lines for Ranger from Quake Champions, but its not a deal breaker. I still loved trying him out and had fun with it!
Also, sorry for lacking voiceover for Ranger. I have forgot that there is "Quake Champions" and all i remember from "Quake 1" is just jump grunting with screams of pain and agony...
I think that i can borrow few his voice lines from "Quake Champions: Doom Edition", if creators of that mod don't mind.
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:25 pm
Discord: Nonemployee#1013
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: RMG's Friends

Post by mamaluigisbagel »

For me GZDoom became a "Garry's Mod" or even "Skyrim" in a way of "Mod it, until it crashes!"
Good, I'm not the only one :P That's honestly been my mindset with GZDoom for a long time.
Also, sorry for lacking voiceover for Ranger. I have forgot that there is "Quake Champions" and all i remember from "Quake 1" is just jump grunting with screams of pain and agony...
I think that i can borrow few his voice lines from "Quake Champions: Doom Edition", if creators of that mod don't mind.
If you do, I'm still wondering if it'd be a good idea to make it optional (maybe a toggle in his friends menu) as I imagine there are people that hate the idea of Ranger talking or simply don't like his lines from it. Personally I liked them a lot despite it seeming like heresy at first, but that's my own opinion.

EDIT: I was playing with EoA and got stuck on a lift of Doom 2's MAP01 once Ranger spawned behind me, sticking me between him and a wall and I couldn't walk past him. However I could've sworn you could walk through them. Is that a bug, intended, or maybe could've been a compatibility issue?

Return to β€œGameplay Mods”