Development of GZDoom with GitHub

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Development of GZDoom with GitHub

Postby MatrixCL » Tue Aug 04, 2020 5:11 am

I might be helping out here in there with RFC's on GZDoom. Though I am a web developer (full stack, but still). An application like this is quite something else, so my contributions will probably be limited to tweaks here and there, as I don't think I'll invest in figuring out how the whole application works in general. Unless one of the developers here is willing to give me a tutorial.

I assume I won't get the rights to make git commits myself any time soon (nor should I), but can only do pull requests. Not too sure how that works, but I'll figure it out. In whatever git project I've been working on, I've always had full rights.

I followed the procedure in the wiki and was able to compile and run it on the first try. Yay! B-)

But now I don't really understand how the procedure works for actual development. With the git repository, I created a Visual Studio project using CMake. Then I can make changes, compile, and see the results. However, those alterations are then not on the repository, but on the VS project, so I can't commit that to GitHub. Therefore I should either copy the changes from the project to the repository dir, or only make changes in the repository dir and then create a VS project and compile every time I change something, which is way too impractical and cumbersome. Am I missing something here? Or is this simply the burden we developers have to bear for supporting different platforms with shared code?
MatrixCL

Discord: Matrix#1375
Github ID: MaartenCL
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Development of GZDoom with GitHub

Postby dpJudas » Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:15 am