[gz-models] 3d models fixed

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

[gz-models] 3d models fixed

Postby Drathian » Sun Apr 21, 2019 5:58 pm

I usually use dengine stuff, but looking at some of the features of gzdoom I decided to move over for a bit. I noticed that even building the 3dmodels directly from the source:
https://code.google.com/archive/p/ds-models/
and
https://github.com/AA1999/ds-models
which are oddly different sizes of output.

runs tons of errors and weapons are invisible among other glitches.

This thread led me to examine the source code, and it was ported with a lot of errors possibly due to googlecode and GitHub transferring:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=57454

I corrected the errors with a few regex codes and some filtering bad characters, but I believe the license agreement suggests that I can't just upload a fixed file so I decided to instead upload the diff for a patch for the directory tree. You can use a patch program to fix these changes into the source code from the git repository and run the Build-GZ.bat in windows on the fixed (patched) version of ds-models\trunk tree and you will get working 3dmodels for use in gzdoom.

ds-models-fix.diff @
--link below--
Last edited by Drathian on Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Drathian
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [gz-models] 3d models fixed

Postby Drathian » Sun Apr 21, 2019 8:57 pm

Sorry I forgot to post the decryption key folder link.

There are two folders, one for the models from GitHub ~75mb model file it outputs
and the other for the models at googlecode ~153mb it outputs

Don't know the differences but I fixed them both.

Here:

https://mega.nz/#F!HDw01K6A!ZDj-MLjokR6K6W0Tdzf33Q
Drathian
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [gz-models] 3d models fixed

Postby MaxRideWizardLord » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:46 pm

Not quite understand why you should afraid to post the fixed version on this website. You could post it on actual thread if you just want to give credits.
User avatar
MaxRideWizardLord
 
Joined: 26 Jan 2016

Re: [gz-models] 3d models fixed

Postby Drathian » Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:47 pm

Ok, well I read somewhere that it was frowned upon on this forum but until i'm told to remove it here:

https://mega.nz/#F!HDw01K6A!ZDj-MLjokR6 ... Q?yPx1lIZJ

and

https://mega.nz/#F!HDw01K6A!ZDj-MLjokR6 ... Q?mPoFmKDZ
Drathian
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [gz-models] 3d models fixed

Postby MaxRideWizardLord » Fri Apr 26, 2019 10:09 am

Drathian wrote:Ok, well I read somewhere that it was frowned upon on this forum but until i'm told to remove it here:

https://mega.nz/#F!HDw01K6A!ZDj-MLjokR6 ... Q?yPx1lIZJ

and

https://mega.nz/#F!HDw01K6A!ZDj-MLjokR6 ... Q?mPoFmKDZ


Can you please eleborate the differences between the 76.6 mb file and 153.5 mb file of the same name? They seem to have the same amount of 3D skins that looks exactly the same, seem to work exactly the same as well, both lacking same 3D models as one another. And unfortunatelly, neither can with with Lambda mod. It's surely confusing as to why one is taking twice as much space as the other.
User avatar
MaxRideWizardLord
 
Joined: 26 Jan 2016

Re: [gz-models] 3d models fixed

Postby Drathian » Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:12 pm

I'm not sure myself, but looking at the two different source code branches, it looks like maybe the bigger one is a prereq for the st-models build script for use in Zandronum, skulltag etc?

Note I haven't messed around with Zandoronum, skulltag, etc?, so its models might be broken too, if so let me know I can fix it in a few commands probably.

readme for googlecode:

Spoiler:
Drathian
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [gz-models] 3d models fixed

Postby MaxRideWizardLord » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:24 pm

Found a nasty bug: whenever archie is trying to ressurect anybody, his hands vanish.

I do wonder however, is the mod dead? It had big potential of porting 3D models to gzdoom, it still lacks 3d model for explosion and many heretic/hexen models as well.
User avatar
MaxRideWizardLord
 
Joined: 26 Jan 2016


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests