Recording Zdoom videos

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Recording Zdoom videos

Postby Kilkakon » Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:26 am

Hello everybody,

I recently started doing a few Let's Plays on YouTube, and was wanting to see if I could do some Zdoom wads as well. My normal recording program doesn't work, so I was wondering if anybody would be able to suggest what they use/would use to record Zdoom vids. :) I do narrate as well though, if that helps peoples' suggestionising.

Thanks. :)
User avatar
Kilkakon
Formerly LeaderOne
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2004
Location: Western Australia

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby AVGN » Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:57 am

Welcome to ZDF! Oh a very good question, one i'm sure we've all faced :) So don't worry, I persoanlly tried about 15 different software until i find the right one.
Camstudio gave me bad fps rate when recording, Hypercam made out of sync videos.. etc etc!!

Use Fraps 3.1.2, buy the fullversion
-Moderator edit: We don't encourage warez here.
User avatar
AVGN
He's gonna take you back to the past.
Banned User
 
Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Location: Lithuania

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby Kilkakon » Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:15 am

Thanks for the tip, I'll try it out when I've finished Dune/XCOM, whichever comes first. :D
User avatar
Kilkakon
Formerly LeaderOne
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2004
Location: Western Australia

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby Enjay » Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:39 am

Yeah, Fraps works very well for me.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby wildweasel » Mon Jun 28, 2010 5:02 am

AVGN wrote:Welcome to ZDF!

Kind of strange for someone who has only been here for over a week to be welcoming a user who has been registered since 2004. Bit off-topic, yes, but I figured I should point out this absurdity.
User avatar
wildweasel
from a different perspective.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby Apothem » Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:01 am

Livestream has been a pretty solid tool for recording youtube videos without all the mess. Best thing I can recommend ;)
User avatar
Apothem
ACS scripting makes my head go BooM!
 
Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Location: Performing open heart surgery on an ACS compiler.

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby InsanityBringer » Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:54 am

I use CamStudio for most of my recording purposes, despite the default settings it can be configured to record sound and hide the mouse pointer.
User avatar
InsanityBringer
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Location: opening the forbidden box
Discord: InsanityBringer#9908

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby Caligari87 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:01 am

AVGN wrote:-Moderator edit: We don't encourage piracy.
After some preliminary googling, why do I doubt the validity of that statement? Seems to me that he bought a copy and put it up for people to torrent, considering his email only appears HERE (on the forums).

Moderator edit: removed links, but thanks for pointing this out. :)

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Discord: Caligari87#3089
Github ID: caligari87

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Mon Jun 28, 2010 12:19 pm

InsanityBringer wrote:I use CamStudio for most of my recording purposes, despite the default settings it can be configured to record sound and hide the mouse pointer.


Hmmmm yes. But aren't there some problems with audio recording on Windows Vista and 7? Personally I would recommend Taksi if it wasn't for the fact that it doesn't have audio support at all.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby InsanityBringer » Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:18 pm

AVGN wrote:-Moderator edit: We don't encourage warez here.

You should edit caligari's quote then.
User avatar
InsanityBringer
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Location: opening the forbidden box
Discord: InsanityBringer#9908

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby Shadelight » Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:32 pm

InsanityBringer wrote:
AVGN wrote:-Moderator edit: We don't encourage warez here.

You should edit caligari's quote then.

Whoops. :P
User avatar
Shadelight
You must construct additional lumber.
 
Joined: 20 May 2005
Location: Labrynna
Discord: Shadelight#4920

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby NeuralStunner » Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:38 pm

You can download all kinds of free software here! Woo! :D
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Not "Neutral"
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby lizardcommando » Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:07 pm

I've actually had some luck with Camtasia studio. The only problem is that it gets really laggy if you record ZDoom in fullscreen mode. You'll want to record it in windowed mode.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby Kilkakon » Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:31 pm

InsanityBringer wrote:I use CamStudio for most of my recording purposes, despite the default settings it can be configured to record sound and hide the mouse pointer.

CamStudio was the one I tried before posting here. I was able to make it record sound and microphone, (I was recording a 640x480 window of Zdoom). The video was fine enough but the sound was appalling. Maybe it was Zdoom's settings. Incredible amount of static and whatnot. What did you do to make it work out? :) (I use XP)

Thanks for all the other tips though... I'll be sure to consider them when the time comes. :)
User avatar
Kilkakon
Formerly LeaderOne
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2004
Location: Western Australia

Re: Recording Zdoom videos

Postby NeuralStunner » Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:41 pm

For CamStudio, you should select "Wave Out" as the record input if you can, and turn down the record volume. CS is very volume sensitive in my experience.

I also use VirtualDub to edit the resulting video (I have NO luck with VD's AVI capture at all). I can isolate the audio track and modify it if nee dbe, then reimport when saving as a new file.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Not "Neutral"
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TommyGalano5 and 7 guests