Weird glitchy crap...

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Ceeb » Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:25 pm

So, I don't feel like making an account for DRD Team, and furthermore I haven't even seen this mentioned in their bug section, but look at the weird shit happening in GZDoom r714. These were taken in my project Hell Worm, but they happen in any WADs I play, or even just IWADs by themselves.

Has anyone else experienced this? :? It happens with random sprites.

Image

Image
User avatar
Ceeb
Official Idoit Of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Location: Castle Wut

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby NeuralStunner » Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:53 pm

What setings do you use for Sprite Clipping, Resizing, Billboarding? Any specifics on your rendering settings, really.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
German sausage is the wurst.
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: traveling around inside a hug

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Enjay » Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:59 pm

NeuralStunner wrote:What setings do you use for Sprite Clipping, Resizing, Billboarding? Any specifics on your rendering settings, really.

My queries too. I've certainly not seen anything like that myself.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Ceeb » Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:24 pm

Clipping is Smart, don't know what you mean by resizing, and billboarding is Y axis only.

This happens at random. That baron was normal until it threw a fireball, when it compressed like that. After that frame it returned to normal.
User avatar
Ceeb
Official Idoit Of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Location: Castle Wut

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Zero X. Diamond » Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:19 pm

This same thing is happening to me in GZDoom. Just posted a thread about it on DRD Team's GZDoom Bug forum, though I don't know if it's got to be approved first or what the hell ever. It appears to be directly related to the scaling method; when it's changed to 3x, the frames that squish up return to normal, but everything else gets horribly stretched out.
User avatar
Zero X. Diamond
merry chrimbus i guess
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2009

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Vader » Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:20 pm

Ceeb wrote:This happens at random. That baron was normal until it threw a fireball, when it compressed like that. After that frame it returned to normal.


Almost sounds like a feature;
in-game sprite resizing anyone :P

Anyway, I haven't seen anything like that so far.
User avatar
Vader
Mandroid ginger Ninja
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Location: Germany

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Enjay » Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:42 pm

Zero X. Diamond wrote:though I don't know if it's got to be approved first or what the hell ever.

A user's first post over at DRD has to be approved by a mod as an anti-spam device. I just approved your thread so future posts by you won't need approval.

I noticed that you are using an ATI Radeon 9200. I wonder what card Ceeb is using. I'm using a GeForce 285 GTX and have not seen this so I'm wondering if it's an ATI thing.

As for getting a quick fix, unfortunately Graf is away on business and won't be back for a couple of weeks. So, nothing will happen until then.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Ceeb » Thu Jan 07, 2010 8:56 pm

Enjay wrote:I wonder what card Ceeb is using.


ATI Radeon X1650, although I used to have a 9200 SE. :P
User avatar
Ceeb
Official Idoit Of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Location: Castle Wut

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Jan 08, 2010 4:58 am

Damn. I recently added a feature to crop the edges of sprites that contain a lot of empty space. It looks that this does not work on old ATI cards which do not support textures with dimensions that are not a power of two. But I'm sorry, you'll have to live with it for the next 2 weeks. I'm not at home right now and neither have access to the DRDTeam forum nor the SVN so I can't fix it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Cutmanmike » Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:09 am

Vader wrote:in-game sprite resizing anyone :P


WFDS or find some crazy bug to help you out?! :wink:
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Not dead
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Xaser » Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:59 am

That is more or less ZDoom's unspoken mantra. :P
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby ReX » Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:44 am

I'm having the same problems too, but they are momentary. In other words, the sprites generally show up with no issues, but for brief instants they get flattened. Here are examples:

Flattened Sprite.jpg
Flattened Sprite
Flattened Sprite.jpg (19.69 KiB) Viewed 1631 times


Normal Sprite.jpg
Normal Sprite (screenshot taken an instant after the previous one)
Normal Sprite.jpg (20.04 KiB) Viewed 1632 times
User avatar
ReX
Title? I don't need no steenkin' title!
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby The Ultimate DooMer » Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:55 pm

I just found this too...the reiver from Hexen squashes up from behind and some of my custom mobs don't render properly at all. Needless to say, I'm somewhat relieved to know the cause (having just had a major scare before this with it not loading at all until finding out that XWE chewed up my graphics wad) and 1.4.0 will do for the meantime while Graf's away.
User avatar
The Ultimate DooMer
Will you start the fans please!
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Industrial Zone

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Godzilla » Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:44 pm

are you using Xscale or scale
Also nice screenies, doom64/shadow warrior :D both your projects look promising.
User avatar
Godzilla
Gojira
Banned User
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2010
Location: Mexico

Re: Weird glitchy crap...

Postby Gez » Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:01 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Damn. I recently added a feature to crop the edges of sprites that contain a lot of empty space. It looks that this does not work on old ATI cards which do not support textures with dimensions that are not a power of two. But I'm sorry, you'll have to live with it for the next 2 weeks. I'm not at home right now and neither have access to the DRDTeam forum nor the SVN so I can't fix it.

I have an experimental build ready which should solve the issue then.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], YukesVonFaust, ZikShadow and 3 guests