Add DEF to GAMEINFO

Moderator: Raze Developers

User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Add DEF to GAMEINFO

Post by NightFright »

No need to stop while we are half-way there.

Something like this should be possible via GAMEINFO lump:

Code: Select all

startuptitle = "Duke!Zone II"
con = "dukezone2.con"
def = "dukezone2.def"
The first two lines already work with latest Raze snapshots, the last one would be the feature request, obviously.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47994
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Add DEF to GAMEINFO

Post by Graf Zahl »

How would you want this to work? Just autoload the given file or use it as the global lookup name?
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Add DEF to GAMEINFO

Post by NightFright »

Well, most mods contain "include duke3d.def", so if you use it as a plain autoload function (like con, I guess), it should do what it's supposed to do. Not that duke3d.def is needed all the time, anyway.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47994
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Add DEF to GAMEINFO

Post by Graf Zahl »

Added, although I have my doubts about the usefulness of such a feature. It works quite a bit against the idea of cumulative .defs in mods.
I guess time will tell.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions”