Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Moderator: Raze Developers

Yhe100
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 10:14 pm

Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Yhe100 »

I just tried it, and it has a bunch of HOM errors. "no hope in sight" is an nblood exclusive. So If Raze is a fork of Nblood, then Raze should be able to play it. Perhaps someone should take a look at it?
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 803
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by mjr4077au »

If you can provide a download link, I can take a look at it tonight. Raze does fork NBlood's code but there's a significant amount of underlying changes that could impact compatibility.

Can you please also confirm the version of Raze that you're using?
Yhe100
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 10:14 pm

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Yhe100 »

User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48374
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Graf Zahl »

So this is NoOne's mod for which he implemented all those 'modern' features? Let's hope I got everything together.
My guess here would be the messy installation. This mod does everything bad a Blood mod can do to work with the totally screwed up resource management of the engine - which NBlood meticulously preserves.
I'll have to see what it needs but my strong recommendation would be to clean out the mess and zip it up in a form that allows playing it without altering the base game's data. In its present form I'd never dare running it for the fear of destroying some data.

And considering that NoOne submitted some new features to NBlood long after Raze 0.6 there's still a good chance that it won't work on that version.
User avatar
sinisterseed
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by sinisterseed »

It doesn't seem to run on 5330964a7a622fe6d8b54a0982c336dd2456d9f4 either.

I just tried to .zip the contents of the mod from inside the NHIS folder and load the newly created archive with -file, but it doesn't seem to load up. I'm not seeing any changes.
Last edited by sinisterseed on Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48374
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Graf Zahl »

That's because this mod needs more work. It's a totally messed up launch procedure, without running the batch it is bound to break. I'll need to invest a bit of time here to make sure that everything works as expected.
User avatar
sinisterseed
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by sinisterseed »

Like one of those old DOS mods? Jeez...

I've seen plenty of mods using batch files to run, but I've never had any use for them. In GDX I would just select the .ini file to run from the User Maps/Mods entry in the menu, while in NBood I would rename the .ini to BLOOD.INI and select it at startup. Fascinating.
Last edited by sinisterseed on Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48374
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Graf Zahl »

This is definitely one of the worst I've ever seen. I'll post an update later this evening.
Yhe100
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 10:14 pm

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Yhe100 »

Can 0.71 play "Blood: no hope in sight" now? Thanks much!
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48374
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Graf Zahl »

TBH, I haven't tried to untangle that messed up distribution yet.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48374
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Graf Zahl »

So, I finally stepped down into that cesspool of an installation package. As of today it can be played with a devbuild. There was still a bug with parsing the RFS files that needed to be fixed.
Unfortunately, to get this working you have to work around the mod's launcher, and repackage it first:

- Extract just the NHIS folder to some place on your hard drive.
- rename the nhis*.art files to tiles*.art (*)
- rename nhis.ini to blood.ini. (*)
- zip this directory up but as the root folder in the zip, not as a subfolder like in the original.
- launch with -file nhis.zip.
- enjoy (or not - you will see once you start it why I made that remark :twisted:)

(*) The renaming is mainly for making it easier to launch, you could get around it with some command line actions, but this way is easier.
Yhe100
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 10:14 pm

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Yhe100 »

Got it to work, Thanks for looking into this.

Based on this, there may be some more NBlood exclusives incoming.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQSJaNU5npY

Hope Raze can support them, Nblood lacks some stuff, like texture filtering.
Yhe100
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 10:14 pm

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Yhe100 »

It appears that the messages' in NHIS.ini does not display correctly tho, rather I get a bunch of error msgs in the console.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48374
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Yhe100 wrote: Based on this, there may be some more NBlood exclusives incoming.
It's getting harder this time - NoOne already pushed his latest changes to a work branch for NBlood so I was able to check it out.
The main issue is that trying to port features while at the same time cleaning up the engine's code is a losing proposition. At some point the code bases will just become too incompatible to constantly merge in such extensive changes. We'll see. If he stops adding new things, all should be fine, but if he constantly adds new features to NBlood as he needs them it will be inevitable that at some point we'll have to stop taking these updates.

What about the messages? Can you post some examples? I only checked out that mod's beginning and there everything looked fine.
Yhe100
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 10:14 pm

Re: Can Raze play Blood Mod "no hope in sight"?

Post by Yhe100 »

Basically, a no seq message

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vozl7tpov7ejp ... s.jpg?dl=0

And the msg's in the ini file such as being wounded is not showing up.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [Raze]”