Disable Automap

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

Disable Automap

Postby ::Bloodfury:: » Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:40 pm

Hey guys!

As mentioned above.

I have a story line map where player is totally frozen. hud is hidden etc. pics and text run with acs and so on.
however, the possibility that one can toggle automap annoys me. Any simple way to disable it.
Just for this map.

Thx in advance. :)
User avatar
::Bloodfury::
 
Joined: 01 Aug 2011
Location: Finland
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Disable Automap

Postby edward850 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:53 pm

You don't. The automap in Doom/Raven/Strife is an absolute. In fact ZDoom goes out of its way to provide methods to make sure the automap always works. There is no cheating the automap.
Because it's an absolute, this allows for the possibility of multi-screen support showing the automap permanently on another monitor. A reserved feature when someone finds the time, if you will.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Disable Automap

Postby ::Bloodfury:: » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:13 pm

Well, guess I just hide all linedefs and make easter egg with visible ones reading: You should not be using this ;)
User avatar
::Bloodfury::
 
Joined: 01 Aug 2011
Location: Finland
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Disable Automap

Postby edward850 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:16 pm

::Bloodfury:: wrote:Well, guess I just hide all linedefs and make easter egg with visible ones reading: You should not be using this ;)


That was put in place for old 1994 maps that thought it could abuse that. Hiding the map no longer cuts mustard. ;)
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Disable Automap

Postby Dancso » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:56 pm

To be honest I think you could kindly ask the player not to use the automap and call it a day. Cheating will always be possible one way or another, if they want to spoil the experience or the atmosphere, let them, it's their loss.

On topic of automaps being absolute.. would it theoretically be possible to link the automap (either the overlay version or background version) to a texture (preferably a HUD element?) It'd be pretty cool to have a minimap in the corner of the screen, though I could see it being used in the same level of creativity as camera textures are.
User avatar
Dancso
bow wow
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Location: at home.. Status: lazy like hell

Re: Disable Automap

Postby edward850 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:59 pm

The full automap being an overlay has been done once before. Problem is the code was unfinished and went stale so it had to be dropped.
As a texture is a little more interesting (although not impossible), as technically the current ZDoom automap is hardware rendered entirely, but any texture would need to exist back as an 8bit buffer. You could probably just use the old drawer, although that depends on if anybody would consider that worth trying to do.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Disable Automap

Postby MaxED » Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:58 am

::Bloodfury:: wrote:Any simple way to disable it.

Here you go :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: Disable Automap

Postby edward850 » Tue Feb 23, 2016 3:00 am

MaxED wrote:
::Bloodfury:: wrote:Any simple way to disable it.

Here you go :)

Key note if that ever gets used it's equally asking for an off switch. Aside from the concept that it even works with independent overlays or multi-monitor.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Disable Automap

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Feb 23, 2016 4:50 am

"Disable HUD messages on automap" "Off"/"On"

Makes sense when seeing such shit.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Disable Automap

Postby Tormentor667 » Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:03 am

Graf Zahl wrote:"Disable HUD messages on automap" "Off"/"On"
Makes sense when seeing such shit.

That
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Disable Automap

Postby Nash » Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:31 am

So? I can just as well already make a mod that covers the entire 3D view with a black graphic at all times. What are you going to do, make a "disable all Hud messages" option?

I can also - right now - make a DECORATE actor that hard locks the session. What then - a "disable DECORATE actors" option?

Why do you automatically assume everyone is going to do bad things? You obviously have no taste for joke and troll mods, so the choice of NOT playing them is already entirely up to you.

There are legitimate uses for automap HUD messages - draw additional stats and numbers that the stock K/S/I counters do not cover - it would be best to draw them to the side of the map screen instead of cluttering the main 3D viewport while playing.

I think it's better to not just blindly judge everyone on assumption...
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Disable Automap

Postby MaxED » Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:47 am

Heeey, ya know, I REALLY don't like archviles! I should probably don't allow GZDB users to save their maps if there are more than 2 archviles in them. OH! OH! And I VEEEERY liek those modern ZDoom stuffs liek 3d floors and stuff. So any map without at least 10 of thos also wont be saved. Now THAT will maek them maps MUUUUCH better, dontyouthink?????
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: Disable Automap

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:10 am

Nash wrote:So? I can just as well already make a mod that covers the entire 3D view with a black graphic at all times. What are you going to do, make a "disable all Hud messages" option?


A mod that's not playable is worthless.
A mod that deliberately sabotages an engine feature is reason for adding an override switch for the nonsense it performs.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Disable Automap

Postby MaxED » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:21 am

There may be gameplay reasons for that, you know. For example, you cannot view the map in Wolfenstein: New Order if you haven't found the map item for the current area yet.

Also, if a mod blocks the map and players find it annoying, they will direct their whining at mod author, not you, so I don't understand why you want to enforce this engine-side. It will just add yet another point to the list of "In order to play this mod, you'll need to set this option to that value, that option to this value, flip those and fiddle with that (and god forbid you disable dynamic lights or models!)".
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: Disable Automap

Postby Chl » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:51 am

Graf Zahl wrote:
Nash wrote:So? I can just as well already make a mod that covers the entire 3D view with a black graphic at all times. What are you going to do, make a "disable all Hud messages" option?


A mod that's not playable is worthless.
A mod that deliberately sabotages an engine feature is reason for adding an override switch for the nonsense it performs.
This reasoning is so dumb I don't know where to start. Not everyone is going to use ZDoom to make Doom shooter mods and not having the automap does not make a mod unplayable anyway. I have no Idea how anyone can make that conclusion.

What if I want the automap to be a pickup for example(which I do)? Also you don't have to play those mods as mentioned earlier. Making up arbitrary rules as a dev that put limitations on modmakers, as long as they can't do dumb shit like damaging the computer, goes against the whole idea of making mods(you know, making unintended engine features to the original product) I think.
User avatar
Chl
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2015

Next

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest