polyobject sound

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
Locked
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4122
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

polyobject sound

Post by Kappes Buur »

[I need some help, please]

I ran into a slight problem when building some polyobject doors.
When these doors are activated, they do not make a sound.

The following specials

Polyobj_StartLine
Polyobj_ExplicitLine

have sound as their last argument.

How exactly is that sound assigned ?

[/I need some help, please]
User avatar
Wasted Youth
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 9:59 pm
Location: Earth

Post by Wasted Youth »

Your going to have to create a SNDSEQ lump in your wad.
http://www.zdoom.org/wiki/index.php?title=SNDSEQ
There in the Wiki tells all the SNDSEQ commands you can use.
All the Predefined Sound Names you have to use are all named in the SNDSEQ lump in zdoom.wad

If you are still confused, here is what to do:
-Close your Map Editor
-Open Notepad
-Type in the Code
-Save as SNDSEQ.lmp
-Import it in to your wad with XWE
-Close XWE
-Open your map in your Map Editor
-Edit Polyobj_StartLine
-Set the Sound Number to 1

Here is an Example:

Code: Select all

:PolyOpen
   door 1
   play		doors/dr1_open
   nostopcutoff
end
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4122
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kappes Buur »

@WY
Thanks for the info. :D

Your example did help to point me in the right direction. While it did not work the way I wanted it to work at first, eventually I realized that I had to tell ZDoom which sound I wanted with SNDINFO.

By the way, that step with Notepad is not necessary. The lumps can be entered and/or edited directly in XWE. No need to import.
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Krillancello
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 12:39 am
Location: Teh Intarwebivurs

Post by Krillancello »

I believe this SNDSEQ data should work (set the sound argument to 1)... no gaurantees though, as I've done very little wadding aside from starting mapping for my first project.

Code: Select all

:PolyOpen
    door 1
    playuntildone STNMV4
end
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4122
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kappes Buur »

@Krillancello

What I did was this:

SNDINFO

Code: Select all

PolyMove		STNMV4
SNDSEQ

Code: Select all

:PolyOpen 
   door 1 
   play      PolyMove 
   nostopcutoff 
end
StartLine (...,...,1)

:D
User avatar
Wasted Youth
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 9:59 pm
Location: Earth

Post by Wasted Youth »

Kappes Buur wrote:By the way, that step with Notepad is not necessary. The lumps can be entered and/or edited directly in XWE. No need to import.
Yeah, but it is always good to have a seperate copy of it.
Also, Im working on a big project and Im keeping orgainized external resources in folders, so I was in that kind of in that mode at the time :)
Locked

Return to “Editing (Archive)”