[4.7.0] GZDoom doesn't recognize INDEXFON

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
cubebert
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 3:37 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

[4.7.0] GZDoom doesn't recognize INDEXFON

Post by cubebert »

On GZDoom 4.6.1 and earlier versions, the engine will load wads that have INDEXFON used for their SBARINFO lump. However, loading the same wads on 4.7.0 will cause the engine to fail loading, giving out the message "Unknown font 'INDEXFON'". So far, this has affected Samsara, but it's likely that many older wads are affected as well. To reproduce this bug, simply load Samsara with GZDoom 4.7.0.

[imgur]https://i.imgur.com/FWptUZ3[/imgur]
Blue Shadow
Posts: 4955
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:59 am

Re: [4.7.0] GZDoom doesn't recognize INDEXFON

Post by Blue Shadow »

The font is called "indexfont", with a "t" in the end.
User avatar
cubebert
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 3:37 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [4.7.0] GZDoom doesn't recognize INDEXFON

Post by cubebert »

I've manually replaced each instance of INDEXFON with INDEXFONT and that seemed to fix the issue. Samsara works on GZDoom 4.7.0, Zandronum, and earlier versions of GZDoom, so I guess it's not really a GZDoom error so much as it is a user-end bug. Thanks for clarifying! :)

By the way, since earlier GZDoom versions could load INDEXFON without throwing out an error, is there any reason why that was changed in 4.7.0? I know that if people really wanted to, they could use those versions to play mods that might have that error pop up, but it seems to me like INDEXFON and INDEXFONT were interchangable, unless I'm mistaken.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49096
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [4.7.0] GZDoom doesn't recognize INDEXFON

Post by Graf Zahl »

It was undefined behavior. The sort name of indexfont.txr is INDEXFON. There has been some restructuring on the font code recently. Apparently some mods can't play by the rules if sloppy desgin is accepted by the engine,
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3142
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: [4.7.0] GZDoom doesn't recognize INDEXFON

Post by drfrag »

I was thinking about the 8 character limit for filenames in DOS and wad editing DOS tools.
This could be a problem (considering that Blzut3 created SBARINFO AFAIR). viewtopic.php?f=3&t=15903#p317233
User avatar
3saster
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Canada

Re: [4.7.0] GZDoom doesn't recognize INDEXFON

Post by 3saster »

Supposing that compatibility is restored (which it should, since it effects major mods no longer worked on like Samsara and High Noon Drifter), it would be easy enough to do it, no? Either duplicate INDEXFONT into a font called INDEXFON, or (probably better), just make INDEXFON an alias for INDEXFONT in the relevant font code.
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3164
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: [4.7.0] GZDoom doesn't recognize INDEXFON

Post by Blzut3 »

Yeah, I have to say even I assumed the short name would always be a valid alias.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49096
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [4.7.0] GZDoom doesn't recognize INDEXFON

Post by Graf Zahl »

Normally, yes.
But I recently changed this font from a .fon file to a directory-based font when I had to edit it. For directory based fonts the short name does not exist in the file system.

We had exactly the same issue with CONFONT/CONSOLEFONT when that one got extended.

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”