Error Loading KDIZD

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Average
Posts: 626
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 4:28 am

Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Average »

When trying to load KDIZD 1.1 the game crashes with the following error:

Script error, "kdizd_11.pk3:decorate/decorations.txt" line 996:
SC_Get_Float: Bad numeric constant "0.4".


This happens in ZDoom (r4341) and GZDoom (1596). I'm using Windows 7 Pro 64bit with i7 processor and nvidia GT540m.
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Edward-san »

User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Graf Zahl »

Is nobody here who can re-upload this thing?
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Gez »

The GZDoom for Mac OS X fork has a variant of the compatibility code which identifies archives based on their hash and will use the old parser for them. See this commit notably.
User avatar
Average
Posts: 626
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 4:28 am

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Average »

Thanks for the replies.

Couldn't Torm just tweak it himself. That way his site as well as idgames can be updated by the same person...?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Graf Zahl »

Sure he could. I would have done the /idgames upload myself if my ISP didn't block the server for some reason. I just can't log in.
This isn't the only mod to become victim of a parser change, btw. RTC-3057 also doesn't work without a minor change and none of its makers seems to bother. It almost look that they completely forgot about their project - it has been broken for several years now.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Graf Zahl »

I'm uploading a fixed 1.2 version to my own FTP right now. I'll post the link when it's up.
This needs to be uploaded to /idgames and of course the links on Realm667 and DRDTeam need to be updated as well.
User avatar
Average
Posts: 626
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 4:28 am

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Average »

Thank you so much. I look forward to it. :)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Graf Zahl »

Here it is:

http://www.osnanet.de/c.oelckers/stuff/kdizd_12.zip

If this is available on Realm667, DRDTeam and /idgames, please drop me a note so I can delete it again.
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3144
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Blzut3 »

Has anyone notified Tormentor667 about this?

Although if RTC and others are also affected and there doesn't seem to be a chance that will be updated, perhaps we should consider pulling the change in gzdoom-macosx?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Graf Zahl »

RTC is something different. This WAD uses an actor named 'pistol' and clashes with 'Pistol'. This has been a problem since 2.0.90, I believe.
I don't really want to add a hack for a single WAD that can easily be updated by its creators.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by _mental_ »

BTW this model pack has similar issue with new script parser. But I have no idea where it came from and who its author is.
That's why I have added a compatibility layer for this. Although like any compatibility stuff it's not very elegant.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26529
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Error Loading KDIZD

Post by Enjay »

That pack was investigated by Gez over at DRD and I posted some fixed lumps.

http://forum.drdteam.org/viewtopic.php? ... 09&p=53804

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”