Good Ol' HUD (v3)

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
tehvappy50
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:15 am

Good Ol' HUD (v3)

Post by tehvappy50 »

This is a full screen only HUD I've been working on since (I believe) May 2015. It somehow sprung into existence while I was messing around with an old computer out of nostalgia. And that, combined with inspiration and the challenge of using only SBARINFO, resulted in this interesting experiment called the Good Ol' HUD (how generic!). And as GZDoom and QZDoom are updated, I've been making use of SBARINFO's recent features.

This HUD is compatible with Doom, Heretic, Hexen, Strife, and Chex Quest.

The HUD's design is really simple, but it has most (if not all) of the details a standard HUD needs, and then some.
Spoiler: Features and Console Variables
Spoiler: Screenshots
Spoiler: Credits and Miscellaneous Info
Spoiler: Changelog
Spoiler: Known Issues
Download it! (141kb)
Last edited by tehvappy50 on Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:30 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
TerminusEst13
Posts: 1625
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:08 pm

Re: Good Ol' HUD (v1)

Post by TerminusEst13 »

Pretty simple but nice little HUD. I dig it.

Good work!
tehvappy50
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:15 am

Re: Good Ol' HUD (v1)

Post by tehvappy50 »

Thank you, I'm glad you like it. I'll probably add more to it as time goes on and I figure out what to do.
User avatar
Crudux Cruo
Posts: 1165
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: California

Re: Good Ol' HUD (v1)

Post by Crudux Cruo »



here's a video i did with your mod in it, colourful hell, droplets, and of course, lethaldoom. feel free to use it if you'd like.

also, i'd like to ask permission to implement your hud into my mod. It fits my mod perfectly, and its the most simple layout i've found. I love it. i'd be honored if you would let me put it directly into my mod.
tehvappy50
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:15 am

Re: Good Ol' HUD (v1)

Post by tehvappy50 »

Sure, go right ahead! I'd suggest showing C1/A1 instead of A1/A2 for weapons that use a magazine (along with making their respective bars/text the same color), but that's just an opinion/suggestion of mine. On another note, version 2 has been released. It's not anything special. It just has a menu (you can only access it via "openmenu GoodOlHUDOptions" in the console for now so as not to mess up compatibility with other mods).
User avatar
Crudux Cruo
Posts: 1165
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: California

Re: Good Ol' HUD (v2)

Post by Crudux Cruo »

I have not yet began to intergrate it, but i will certainly look into c1/a1. not sure what that means :P I might be asking you for help in pm if i have any complications, but by looking at the code with a cursory glance, it seems straightforward. hopefully it is :)
tehvappy50
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:15 am

Re: Good Ol' HUD (v3)

Post by tehvappy50 »

After almost four months of on and off development, version 3 is now out the door. Some pretty interesting changes include the addition of a timer, auto aligning, and a non-conflicting menu entry. As usual, the changelog is located on the original post.
User avatar
RastaManGames
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:13 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russian Federation, Krasnoyarsk

Re: Good Ol' HUD (v3)

Post by RastaManGames »

I am really sorry for necromancy here, but this HUD is crashing latest (for this moment) GZDoom of version 4.7.0.
It says something about wrong font named "INDEXFON" in SBARINFO lump.
Unpacking mod and replacing "INDEXFON" with "INDEXFONT" fixed this problem and then game starting up normally w/o any problems.
This one little bug that can ruin someone's experience, but it really easy to fix him.
Is there any way to contact author of this mod?
I mean, he was online in July, but... GZDoom 4.7.0 out few hours ago...
User avatar
Spaceman333
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:40 pm

Re: Good Ol' HUD (v3)

Post by Spaceman333 »

Posting this here too for those that want a ready fixed version of this good HUD mod.

https://www.moddb.com/mods/stalker-weap ... dolhud-v31

Technically its the same as the old one - so it works with anything, not just that stalker mod - the only thing that was changed was "INDEXFON" changed to "INDEXFONT" in every SBARINFO I could find - for all games.

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”