[REQ] One click retro mode

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

vorob
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:42 am

[REQ] One click retro mode

Post by vorob »

First of all i'm sorry for my english and sorry if this feature already exists and i was blind to find it.

You see, gzdoom-bin-3-2-5-x64 provides tons of settings, you can configure literally everything. But what it i wanna play 1to1 original doom? With 320x200 resolution, same physics and so on. I've downloaded gzdoom, downloaded original wad file and saw textures with filtering. That's not original... And this is only the most obvious. Who knows what other settings are different from what was in the original.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3814
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by _mental_ »

Use Chocolate Doom. Making GZDoom exactly the same as vanilla is impossible. Close to vanilla in some aspects is doable but not exactly the same.
vorob
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:42 am

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by vorob »

Ye, i'm already using Chocolate / Chrisp doom :)
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by dpJudas »

You can't get exactly the look of original Doom, but you can do the following to get pretty close:

1) Set light mode to "software"
2) Set texture filtering to "none", or "none (trilinear)"
3) Set fuzz style to "software" (only available in nightly builds or the upcoming 3.3 release)
4) Enable the palette tonemap
5) Set scaling mode to 320x200 or 640x400 for the 4:3 look and pixelated graphics
User avatar
Arctangent
Posts: 1235
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:53 pm

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by Arctangent »

ZDoom broke away from full vanilla compatibility long ago, so you won't see anything like this pretty much ever ( although as dpJudas pointed out, you can emulate the look pretty well, and even better with some shader use ). Using the compatibility options part of the options menu will let you enable various quirks of the original engine and ZDoom itself will automatically enable them for some custom maps that require them, but stuff like the original physics down to a T? ZDoom doesn't even use the same non-integer number format as the original Doom, plus the physics have been altered to not only play the other idtech 1 games with a unified system but also add stuff like 3D floors and portals, and that's just the physics.

So, yeah, just use Chocolate or Crispy Doom if you want to play vanilla as it was in 1993. That's what they're made for, while ZDoom's prerogative is far more focused expanding the capabilities of the engine by an incredible amount while still allowing you to play stuff made for vanilla, just not down to the very last detail.
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10772
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by Xaser »

Though there will indeed always be subtle differences between GZDoom and classic Doom, you can get it down to a point where you'd have to be a die-hard to really notice a difference. In addition to dpJudas's suggestions, there are a lot of compatibility options that can be flipped to get it closer -- setting "Use Doom heights for missile clipping" to Yes and "Monsters see invisible players" to No are the most important ones. I guess "Actors are infinitely tall" is a game-changer too, but that's frankly a PITA that I don't think folks want to deal with. :P

Quasi-related: I've kinda hinted at it in a Doomworld thread, but I think the default settings need an overhaul. There are too many heavily-divergent customization options enabled at start that it's contributing pretty heavily to the "GZDoom is Not Doom" viewpoint, when often-times it's just a poor first impression (as evidenced by the OP).
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49096
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by Graf Zahl »

The compatibility options can all be set by the Doom(strict) preset. This is all that can be done on the gameplay side.
I'll leave proper display settings to each user - the tastes here vary so greatly that a one-size-fits-all 'vanilla' setting makes close to zero sense.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17450
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by Nash »

I think simply setting the filtering mode to none (trilinear) by default, alone, is enough to make new users think "holy shit this is retro".
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10772
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by Xaser »

Yeah, I'm not talking some sort of selectable "vanilla preset", but to change a couple of defaults so first-time users get something much closer to the source -- setting texturemode to a GL_NEAREST_* variant and the light mode to "Software" ought to suffice. Users can tweak it to their heart's content from there.

See this post for an example of what I mean (plus a handy screenshot comparison).
User avatar
JPL
 
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:27 pm

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by JPL »

Xaser wrote:Yeah, I'm not talking some sort of selectable "vanilla preset", but to change a couple of defaults so first-time users get something much closer to the source -- setting texturemode to a GL_NEAREST_* variant and the light mode to "Software" ought to suffice. Users can tweak it to their heart's content from there.

See this post for an example of what I mean (plus a handy screenshot comparison).
If it ever came to a vote I'd definitely go for changing the GZDoom default to unfiltered (GL_NEAREST_whatever) textures. Doom with filtered textures feels like 1999 to me and brings its own set of unsightly visual artifacts.
vorob
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:42 am

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by vorob »

The compatibility options can all be set by the Doom(strict) preset. This is all that can be done on the gameplay side.
Exactly what I'm talking about. Sorry that I missed that part, will check it.
As for settings, yes there are a lot of them, but if you don't know how original work, you'll never know what you need to change to have vanilla look and feel. That's why there should be a preset that will revert everything close to original.

I've got another question, according to this article: http://doomwiki.org/wiki/Aspect_ratio

Image

This face is displayed wrong in gzdoom:

GZDoom:
Image
Crispy Doom:
Image
vorob
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:42 am

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by vorob »

Guys, sorry for double-post, but I've checked this "doom strict" preset and that's only partially is what I'm looking for. For example, you can have jumping and free look, but this "strict" preset doesn't affect such gameplay part, so it won't disable jumping.

Also, some graphical features surprise me. Holes in walls that were absent in vanilla doom.
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by dpJudas »

If you're going for a 100% strict Doom port, then GZDoom just isn't the right one. Chocolate Doom exists for that.

Even the most vanilla settings in GZDoom doesn't behave entirely like the original for various reasons - i.e. I made the software light mode look like ZDoom instead of Doom intentionally as old ZDoom mods were designed with those light settings.

Btw. the HUD can be stretched like in Crispy if you enable it in the menus.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by Pixel Eater »

VanillaEssence.pk3
Does anyone think this could work as a compromise? It's not one-click but all the user has to do is set all options to "Vanilla" or "Vanilla 64".
It's only an adaptation from another mod (I haven't added anything new yet) so if there are any key CVars people think belong here I will add them.

Code: Select all

AddOptionMenu "OptionsMenu"
{
	Submenu "Vanilla Essence", "VanillaEssenceOptions"
}

OptionValue "VanillaOn"
{
	0, "Off"
	1, "Vanilla (On)"
}

OptionValue "VanillaOff"
{
	0, "Vanilla (Off)"
	1, "On"
}

OptionValue "InvertVanillaOff"
{
	0, "On"
	1, "Vanilla (Off)"
}

OptionValue "InvertVanillaOn"
{
	0, "Vanilla (On)"
	1, "Off"
}

OptionValue "FilterOptions"
{
	0, "Vanilla (None)"
	1, "None (Nearest Mipmap)"
	5, "None (Linear Mipmap)"
	6, "None (Trilinear)"
	2, "Vanilla 64 (Linear)"
	3, "Bilinear"
	4, "Trilinear"
}

OptionValue "ResizeOptions"
{
	0, "Vanilla (Off)"
	1, "Scale2x"
	2, "Scale3x"
	3, "Scale4x"
	4, "HQ2x"
	5, "HQ3x"
	6, "HQ4x"
	7, "HQ2x MMX"
	8, "HQ3x MMX"
	9, "HQ4x MMX"
	10, "XBRZ 2x"
	11, "XBRZ 3x"
	12, "XBRZ 4x"
	13, "XBRZ_OLD 2x"
	14, "XBRZ_OLD 3x"
	15, "XBRZ_OLD 4x"
}

OptionValue "FxaaOptions"
{
	0, "Vanilla (Off)"
	1, "Low"
	2, "Medium"
	3, "High"
	4, "Extreme"
}

OptionMenu "VanillaEssenceOptions"
{
	Position -15
	Title "Vanilla Essence"
	Slider "Lost Soul Translucency (1.0 = Vanilla)", "transsouls", 0.25, 1, 0.01, 2
	Option "Smooth Sprite Edges", "gl_sprite_blend", "VanillaOff"
	Option "FXAA Quality", "gl_fxaa", "FxaaOptions"
	Option "Lights Affect Sprites", "gl_light_sprites", "VanillaOff"
	Option "Texture Filter Mode", "gl_texture_filter", "FilterOptions"
	Option "High Quality Resize Mode", "gl_texture_hqresize", "ResizeOptions"
}
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
GFD
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 7:42 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: Canada

Re: [REQ] One click retro mode

Post by GFD »

If we're being really pedantic, you could argue that a "Vanilla 64" option (which I think would be bilinear, not linear) is still unfaithful because it uses four sampling points instead of three.

This isn't really something that needs a dedicated menu, I think. The menus and CVAR defaults just need to be rethought in general through the whole engine, to help make these sorts of things more clear to users. (I'm working on a proposal draft for such a thing, but it's far from done. This engine has a lot of options to go through.)

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”