Allow assignment to multiple lumps in a single shader block

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Allow assignment to multiple lumps in a single shader block

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:49 am

What I'm asking for is, rather than have to write individual shader blocks for each and every texture I want to affect, put them all in a single block by comma-separating them, as in:
Code: Select allExpand view
HardwareShader Texture <tex1>, <tex2>, <tex3>, <tex4>, ...
{
        <properties>
}

vs.
Code: Select allExpand view
HardwareShader Texture <tex1>
{
        <properties>
}
HardwareShader Texture <tex2>
{
        <properties>
}
HardwareShader Texture <tex3>
{
        <properties>
}
HardwareShader Texture <tex4>
{
        <properties>
}
...

Having to copypaste the same thing over and over again for each texture is kinda annoying and ugly-looking.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Allow assignment to multiple lumps in a single shader bl

Postby Pixel Eater » Wed Feb 21, 2018 4:24 pm

As well it would be good to have a category for all textures, all flats or all sprites. That way they can be grouped into one shader block.

In the mean-time people can use V-Hold as a template which already covers all the textures and flats from DooM to Final DooM.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
I sense evil I fear it here today, Like a bad dream that never goes away -MBerry
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Allow assignment to multiple lumps in a single shader bl

Postby TheShadsy » Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:12 pm

I realize it's not good form to bump a two-year old topic, but for the sake of keeping requests in the same place, I also wanted to request this feature.

I created a shader that I wanted to apply to every sprite used by a specific monster, which meant I had to define 51 separate hardwareshader blocks. That seems really inefficient, and I was surprised there's not a more optimized way to do this! Being able to assign multiple lumps to one hardwareshader block would make it much easier to use shaders with sprites/textures.
TheShadsy
 
Joined: 15 Apr 2012


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests