[REGRESSION] Word Wrapping Not Working (cuts off instead)

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
yum13241
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

[REGRESSION] Word Wrapping Not Working (cuts off instead)

Post by yum13241 »

Expected behavior: The text wraps around the screen, not get cut off.


Actual behavior: Text gets cut off.


How to reproduce:

1. Launch GZDoom.
2. Start a game.
3. Type smth long in the chat, or set your player name to smth like "sajfalesfjlisahfiwehgjkghbvjkfbgjkfhgfjkshgjk"
4. The message only shows partially. In older versions it'd just take up more lines as needed,

Demo:







Possible causes:

I'm on EndeavourOS (consider it Arch), and because I didn't want to use the flatpak OR compile it from source, I got my GZDoom from https://aur.chaotic.cx/, which seems to give me 4.9.0-m rather than 4.9.0 (no -m) I know that -m means dirty, could they have introduced the bug?

I tested on Windows and this bug still happened, so scratch that.



Why is this important? Because long messages from mods get cut off. If your/the killer's player name or the weapon name is long your obituary also gets cut off.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3854
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: [REGRESSION] Word Wrapping Not Working (cuts off instead)

Post by Marisa the Magician »

What is your con_notifylines cvar set to, if you don't mind me asking?
yum13241
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: [REGRESSION] Word Wrapping Not Working (cuts off instead)

Post by yum13241 »

It was set to 1 for some reason, but I swear I don't remember changing it. Either way it's a bug. Lines shouldn't be cut off when con_notifylines is not large enough. It should just ignore it and allow it to wrap.

Return to “Bugs [GZDoom]”