Console no longer prints map names

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8095
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Console no longer prints map names

Post by Major Cooke »

As stated on the tin, when changing levels, the map name is no longer printed out. If anything I think this could be an option.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48376
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Console no longer prints map names

Post by Graf Zahl »

That seems to be the result of a recent change by PR. Gonna have to check.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3854
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Console no longer prints map names

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Odd, I still see it printed out in the console.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48376
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Console no longer prints map names

Post by Graf Zahl »

maybe it depends on the message level setting somehow.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8095
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: Console no longer prints map names

Post by Major Cooke »

Correct. If it's not set on "Item Pickup", it won't display.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48376
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Console no longer prints map names

Post by Graf Zahl »

My only advice can be to not mess around with the msg CVAR. It does not really do what it claims to do.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8095
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: Console no longer prints map names

Post by Major Cooke »

Well, can the map printing be completely disassociated with it so it always prints as normal?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48376
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Console no longer prints map names

Post by Graf Zahl »

That's the problem: The msg CVAR defies the concept of "normal". The entire message level concept was actually never properly implemented - and why it also applies to the console is a mystery -
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3854
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Console no longer prints map names

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Yeah, that setting has always bothered me. It could potentially break mods.

Return to “Bugs [GZDoom]”