GZDoom 4.9.0 released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

shaodoomkahn
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 7:48 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by shaodoomkahn »

how do i change save and screenshot folder location
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by Hirogen2 »

Rachael wrote: Sun Nov 06, 2022 6:17 am Actually, /proc/cpuinfo is a pseudo-file provided by the kernel, itself. And yes it is quite well expected that on Linux you use /proc information - virtually all Linux tools that matter do so, anyhow.
Your expection is quite wrong; the format of /proc/cpuinfo varies wildly between processor architectures, which does not lend itself very well to parsing. /sys is the authoritative source, and that is what lscpu uses.
User avatar
Doomguy 2000
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: Undisclosed Location, United States

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by Doomguy 2000 »

Is it just me or does the startup music function not work properly?
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by Blzut3 »

Hirogen2 wrote: Fri Nov 11, 2022 5:24 am Your expection is quite wrong; the format of /proc/cpuinfo varies wildly between processor architectures, which does not lend itself very well to parsing. /sys is the authoritative source, and that is what lscpu uses.
Actually it does. That said, you're not completely wrong in that it does use /sys for some things, and that's probably a better place to get the topology info if you need it.
brick
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 10:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by brick »

I just noticed that the patch notes for 4.9.0 have this change:
Graf Zahl wrote: Sat Nov 05, 2022 12:52 pmcarry over the tiling flag from the finished to the entering screen
Unfortunately this seems to revert a bugfix that was introduced in 4.8.2:
Graf Zahl wrote: Mon Jul 04, 2022 2:25 pmfixed background tiling for summary screen.
As a result 4.9.0 now has reintroduced a bug that was present in 4.8.1 and that was fixed in 4.8.2, where Heretic intermission maps tile when they should not.

I think I understand the reason for wanting the tiling to carry over (if the entering screen also uses a flat like the finished screen), but maybe the best solution would be to have the script differentiate between flats to tile and images to not tile (it seems to already know how to deal with Doom maps - those are not being tiled and are centered as they should be)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48377
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by Graf Zahl »

This has already been fixed.

Also, please don't post bug reports on the news thread. Can't you read the BIG RED NOTE on the news post?
yum13241
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by yum13241 »

Proof that big red warnings don't always work. Some just don't read or are willfully ignoring.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13110
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by Rachael »

Doesn't mean they're bad.

A lot of problems are the sole problem of the person themself. You can lead a horse to water but you can't force it to drink. But for serial offenders we can revoke posting privileges selectively, and that's not entirely unheard of for us. I just don't think this particular instance qualifies as needing to go that far.
yum13241
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by yum13241 »

Doesn't mean they're bad.

Very true.

I just don't think this particular instance qualifies as needing to go that far.

I also agree (not like my opinion matters about this)

I hope the "news" gets across: News is for News! Not "I found a bug!".
combolynch
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 1:51 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Turkey

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by combolynch »

RIP Using separate gzdoom profiles for specific tc's and mods
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13110
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by Rachael »

-config <custom.ini> is still perfectly valid for that use, and it will work.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48377
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by Graf Zahl »

Portable installs are as well. Even older GZDoom's only had one INI per installation folder.

For god's sake, is it this hard to read an announcement to process all information... :?
User avatar
KynikossDragonn
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2020 10:59 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Void Linux
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Independence, KS, USA

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by KynikossDragonn »

Graf Zahl wrote: Wed Nov 23, 2022 1:24 amFor god's sake, is it this hard to read an announcement to process all information... :?
Considering I unfortunately come across people that pull the "too long didn't read" card on me then wonder why something isn't working, yes it apparently is too hard to read.

I can understand if someone has a form of attention deficit syndrome, but it feels more like rude spite most of the time.
combolynch
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 1:51 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Turkey

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by combolynch »

Graf Zahl wrote: Wed Nov 23, 2022 1:24 am Portable installs are as well. Even older GZDoom's only had one INI per installation folder.

For god's sake, is it this hard to read an announcement to process all information... :?
what is portable install, I read the topic for info but I didn't understand it. Is it like installer something?
But yeah I figured out that I will stick to creating custom ini's for the mod. Then I will copy it to the ini folder when I play the true mod for it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48377
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.9.0 released

Post by Graf Zahl »

A portable install is one where the ini is kept locally. All you need to do is naming it gzdoom_portable.ini.

Return to “ZDoom (and related) News”