pullins produce unexpected load order starting at least in 4.8.1

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
Ludicrous_peridot
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:46 pm

pullins produce unexpected load order starting at least in 4.8.1

Post by Ludicrous_peridot »

Test case - drop into gzdoom directory and start go.bat
https://mega.nz/folder/E8NS0QiC#uCZfNTBOUE-lQO3W8F97pA

Resulting output (on 4.8.1)

Code: Select all

C:\Games\gzdoom-4-8-1-Windows-64bit>gzdoom -stdout +set developer 1 -file PSXLOAD.PK3

OS: Windows 8.1 (NT 6.3) Build 9600

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Using program directory for storage
Can't find 'PSXLOSTMUS.PK3'
Can't find 'MODS\PSXCUSTM.PK3'
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
 adding C:/Games/gzdoom-4-8-1-Windows-64bit/gzdoom.pk3, 668 lumps
 adding C:/Games/gzdoom-4-8-1-Windows-64bit/game_support.pk3, 2514 lumps
 adding C:/Program Files (x86)/GOG Galaxy/Games/DOOM 2/doom2/DOOM2.WAD, 2919 lumps
 adding C:/Games/gzdoom-4-8-1-Windows-64bit/game_widescreen_gfx.pk3, 214 lumps
 adding zvox.wad, 0 lumps
 adding C:/Games/gzdoom-4-8-1-Windows-64bit//consolux-stbars.pk3, 1 lumps
 adding PSXDOOM.PK3, 1 lumps
 adding PSXLOST.PK3, 1 lumps
 adding PSXNRFTL.PK3, 1 lumps
 adding PSXTCMUS.PK3, 1 lumps
 adding PSXLOAD.PK3, 1 lumps
S_Init: Setting up sound.
Expected output (on 4.7.1)

Code: Select all

C:\Games\gzdoom-4-7-1-Windows-64bit>gzdoom -stdout +set developer 1 -file PSXLOAD.PK3

OS: Windows 8.1 (NT 6.3) Build 9600

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Using program directory for storage
Can't find 'PSXLOSTMUS.PK3'
Can't find 'MODS\PSXCUSTM.PK3'
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
 adding C:/Games/gzdoom-4-7-1-Windows-64bit/gzdoom.pk3, 666 lumps
 adding C:/Games/gzdoom-4-7-1-Windows-64bit/game_support.pk3, 2514 lumps
 adding C:/Program Files (x86)/GOG Galaxy/Games/DOOM 2/doom2/DOOM2.WAD, 2919 lumps
 adding C:/Games/gzdoom-4-7-1-Windows-64bit/game_widescreen_gfx.pk3, 216 lumps
 adding zvox.wad, 0 lumps
 adding PSXDOOM.PK3, 1 lumps
 adding PSXLOST.PK3, 1 lumps
 adding PSXNRFTL.PK3, 1 lumps
 adding PSXTCMUS.PK3, 1 lumps
 adding PSXLOAD.PK3, 1 lumps
 adding C:/Games/gzdoom-4-7-1-Windows-64bit//consolux-stbars.pk3, 1 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48376
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: pullins produce unexpected load order starting at least in 4.8.1

Post by Graf Zahl »

I think it is best to consider pullin deprecated. This is such a nasty hack feature that I do not really want to think about how it does its work. You'd really be better off if you used the 'load' command in GAMEINFO for everything instead or if this is an external autoloaded file, put it in the proper place in the INI.

pullin is simply not well integrated into the file system. The last change to this code was 2.5 years ago which predates 4.7 by quite a margin.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: pullins produce unexpected load order starting at least in 4.8.1

Post by NightFright »

I recently had the same issue. You basically must make sure that [FileSearch.Directories] in your GZD ini has the path where your pullin files are located.
Ludicrous_peridot
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:46 pm

Re: pullins produce unexpected load order starting at least in 4.8.1

Post by Ludicrous_peridot »

Thanks, Graf. Appreciate pullins are not something team wants to support at the moment, I am using pullins to automatically load a set of pk3 last - i.e. after any user specified pk3-s and their dependent pk3-s that they may LOAD. If there's a better way for achieving that with GZDoom, I would certainly abandon pullins.

Also, thanks for suggestion, @NIghtFright. The pullins are in GZDoom directory and ini has Path=$PROGDIR by default.
I added Path=. just in case but that did not change the load order in any way.

Return to “Bugs [GZDoom]”