Bind key to toggle freelook?

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
User avatar
Vi3D
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2022 7:43 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Bind key to toggle freelook?

Post by Vi3D »

Hey, I was wondering if it's possible to bind a key to toggle freelook, while also snapping the aim back to center when it turns off. It's something you can do by default in PRBoom+, and I wanted to get the same functionality in GZDoom 4.7.1.
User avatar
m8f
 
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Manjaro Linux
Location: Siberia (UTC+7)

Re: Bind key to toggle freelook?

Post by m8f »

In console:

Code: Select all

bind r "centerview; toggle freelook"
Put your key Instead of r.
User avatar
Vi3D
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2022 7:43 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Bind key to toggle freelook?

Post by Vi3D »

m8f wrote: Sun Oct 23, 2022 9:41 am In console:

Code: Select all

bind r "centerview; toggle freelook"
Put your key Instead of r.
Hell yeah, thank you very much.

Return to “Technical Issues”