Unable to remove "motion blur"

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
corbn
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 11:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11

Unable to remove "motion blur"

Post by corbn »

Hello all,

I've been motivated to start level editing again, but unfortunately it seems my swanky new PC and "gaming monitor" seem to have issues with motion blur in 2d/pixel games.

I am on a Windows 11 PC, with an RTX 3060Ti GPU and Viewsonic OMNI monitor. Try as I might, I can't seem to get rid of this annoying "motion blur". It makes playing a level barely tolerable.

I've fiddled with just about every Doom display setting I can think of (after several hours of searching for solutions online):
  • turned off trilinear filtering
  • turned off v-sync
  • looked for the option in the nVidia control panel to enable ULMB (but couldn't find it - guessing its not an option with my monitor)
  • toggled a host of other display settings on/off to no avail
I have a couple of recordings that capture what I am referring to and have added one to my DropBox account:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/efh8uqm1ift93 ... 1.mp4?dl=0

Not sure if providing links is frowned upon, but if anyone can take a look and perhaps offer some insight into what's happening it would be most appreciated. :)
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21590
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Unable to remove "motion blur"

Post by wildweasel »

Whatever the problem is, is probably something in your monitor itself; it doesn't appear for me in the recorded video. Check to make sure that your monitor is set to the correct refresh rate and that any fancy "gaming features" are not messing with the image. Sometimes "gaming monitors" can include extra settings that can affect output in undesirable ways.
corbn
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 11:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11

Re: Unable to remove "motion blur"

Post by corbn »

thanks for the feedback! if you wouldn't mind, take a look at this other video, that I hope more accurately shows what I am referring to:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/szu5bx85vvpqj ... 2.mp4?dl=0

those health bonus bottles just "bleed" all over as I am rotating the camera... :(
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2030
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: Unable to remove "motion blur"

Post by phantombeta »

There's no "bleed" in the video. Like wildweasel said, this is most certainly something with your monitor, which will never show up on a screen capture.
Your monitor is probably a VA or IPS panel, both of which exhibit "ghosting" (the former exhibiting far more). You'll have to look through your monitor's options for "anti-ghosting" or "overdrive". It may be under a different name depending on your monitor.
corbn
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 11:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11

Re: Unable to remove "motion blur"

Post by corbn »

gotcha, thanks as well... and yes, watching back the video and indeed the "ghosting" isnt present... which just makes me look like a crazy person! :D

but ill dig into the settings for my monitor and see what i can unearth... this is so frustrating though... spending a good deal on a "gaming monitor" only to find out its essential "non-backwards compatible" :p

Return to “Technical Issues”