Support 3D Floors and dynamic lighting?

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
solarsnowfall
Posts: 1581
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:44 am

Post by solarsnowfall »

Belial, speaking on Quake, wrote:Audiotrack == ownage
Indeed.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26418
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

Quake1, worth buying simply for the ambient NIN album it comes with on the CD. :yup:
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
Posts: 4220
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Post by Lexus Alyus »

Yeah, what Enjay said :D. I actually went to the extra effort of ripping those tracks from the original game and then burning a CD with just the music! I even did the same to Quake 2 and its two mission packs (I managed to fit all of the Quake 2 tracks and mission pack tracks on one CD because I didn't feel the need to have tracks repeated on one CD :D... those that know the Quake 2 mission packs will also know that they share a few songs).

For a bit of extra info, the musicians behind the amaizing Quake 2 sound track are called Sonic Mayhem. They've also done music for the new Prince of Persia game (Warrior Within). I love their style :).

Next I need to rip the music from Hexen and Hexen 2 CD's :D. The Powerslave music is pritty cool too :), although the PC version doesn't have the boss music in the right levels :( (My version of Hexcen 2 also doesn't have the music in the right places... that really sucks because its not the Hexen 2 I knew it as :(). The PS 1 version (Exhumed) was pritty cool... but the levels in the PC version are longer. Pitty I can't play it anymore because stupid M$ have no backwards compatibility in win XP (last time I tried VDM sound it didn't work... although it was a pritty shit computer I tried it on... I'll have to try it in a bit... I'd love to play some of those old games again :)).

Worse thing is that it took me ages to find Powerslave on Amazon.co.uk... All that effort for nothing...

As for the Topic, 3D floors would be cool, but I beleive Graf is already working on it ;).

:twisted:
User avatar
BouncyTEM
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2003 5:42 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: 2280 Lol Street: The Calamitous Carnival (formerly Senators Prison)

Post by BouncyTEM »

the mission packs for Quake 1 also have some nice music with them. :)
I already had it ripped. XD
User avatar
justin024
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 1:29 am
Location: Illinois

Post by justin024 »

Can't you just pop the Quake/Quake2 CD in a cd player listen? Not the in-game sfx of course... Or track #1...
3D floors in Doom? I resorted to sprite bridges cause it seems unlikely.
User avatar
Kirby
Posts: 2697
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:23 pm

Post by Kirby »

I don't know about a C-D player, but with my old comp and Win95, the CD player always used to start up. The ambient music was great, and one of the fun things about Quake was that it read the music as tracks. When I played Quake, I used to get out my CD's and just pop 'em in and they would play automatically.

I remember when I got mission pack #1, I used to pop in van halen all the time. Damn, those were thee days :D
User avatar
jallamann
Posts: 2271
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 8:25 am
Location: Ålesund, Norway

Post by jallamann »

Kirby wrote:and one of the fun things about Quake was that it read the music as tracks. When I played Quake, I used to get out my CD's and just pop 'em in and they would play automatically.
...a common method ;)
User avatar
justin024
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 1:29 am
Location: Illinois

Post by justin024 »

To prove what i said earlier, I popped the quake cd into my cd player and it is currently blasting on my stereo. Shouldn't windows autoplay the CD? In other words, start up quake rather than the music? My old Win95 PC did and so does my current WinXP one.

EDIT: I think jallamann and I tried to post at the same time cause i just got some weird 404 (page not found) error
User avatar
Siggi
Posts: 3288
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 8:57 am
Location: South Africa

Post by Siggi »

I don't remember the Quake soundtrack,,, it's either 'cus I never got my hands on an original copy or because it was too long ago since I heard it. I allways liked the Quake 2 soundtrack though.
User avatar
Phobus
Posts: 5984
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 10:56 am
Location: London

Post by Phobus »

Oh yeah, now that was a good soundtrack :D

It's a shame that music isn't really an FPS thing that much anymore, eh? They focus on unsettling ambience and silence for a lot of them (though TimeSplitters, thankfully, doesn't try to be scary)
User avatar
Wills
Posts: 1446
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: The Well of Wishes

Post by Wills »

Mullac wrote:PLAY QUAKE? NO WAY I NEVER LIKED THAT GAME IT SUCKED! PERIOD!
You fail everything. You skill is not and was never enough. Go home and cry and realize you amount to nothing.
User avatar
Siggi
Posts: 3288
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 8:57 am
Location: South Africa

Post by Siggi »

I think there is a very good reason he ended that little outburst with period...
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21454
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Post by wildweasel »

Phobus wrote:(though TimeSplitters, thankfully, doesn't try to be scary)
Aww yeah, Timesplitters. I gotta listen to my TS2 soundtracks now.
User avatar
ace
Posts: 787
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 10:14 am
Location: Just south of the True North

Post by ace »

Mullac wrote:PLAY QUAKE? NO WAY I NEVER LIKED THAT GAME IT SUCKED! PERIOD!
Quake I in my opinion was okay but I didn't like it. On the other hand, I loved Q2. I'm not sure why...
User avatar
Kirby
Posts: 2697
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:23 pm

Post by Kirby »

Heh, Q2 = teh pwnage. The Ion Ripper from "The Reckoning" kicks ass :D

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions”