Allow network events in title level

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3878
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Allow network events in title level

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Without this, ui→play communication is total and absolutely impossible without the use of exploits.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1304
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Allow network events in title level

Post by AFADoomer »

I would like to add during intermission screens to this request as well...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48537
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Allow network events in title level

Post by Graf Zahl »

This is a bug, not a missing feature. Apparently some code performs incorrect checks on the game state.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3878
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Allow network events in title level

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I do see that SendNetworkEvent only checks for gamestate != GS_LEVEL. This just seems like a one-line change.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48537
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Allow network events in title level

Post by Graf Zahl »

That's precisely what I suspected here. Of course it needs to check for GS_TITLELEVEL as well.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3878
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Allow network events in title level

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Well, I sent a pull request for it. That really is the only change needed.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
Posts: 1530
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:15 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russia

Re: Allow network events in title level

Post by Player701 »

The behavior of the netevent console command was left unchanged, was that intentional or not?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48537
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Allow network events in title level

Post by Graf Zahl »

Itmakes little sense, the player is not supposed to take control in a title level.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17346
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Allow network events in title level

Post by Nash »

It's useless from a keybind use case also; pressing anything at all will simply open the menu. Hence why the CCMD wasn't touched.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
Posts: 1530
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:15 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russia

Re: Allow network events in title level

Post by Player701 »

Got it, thanks. Might've been useful for debugging though, since the console still works in TITLEMAPs.

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”