Prefab Room Disappearing

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
SPZ1
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:01 pm
Location: Illinois

Prefab Room Disappearing

Post by SPZ1 »

When I first set up this prefab there were no problems. It seems that when I made the prefab thing in it's own sector that the problem started. Basically, when you look towards the entrance area of the room, it disappears. :(

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ap4KZFMds2L1hQTNkpE ... y?e=SCSY4C
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48514
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Post by Graf Zahl »

I cannot download this. I always get an error from OneDrive.
User avatar
SPZ1
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:01 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Post by SPZ1 »

I didn't have any trouble with it :?

Try this one: https://ufile.io/plq2kt4n

Why is the Zdoom forum attachment max size so low anyway?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13198
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Post by Rachael »

SPZ1 wrote:Why is the Zdoom forum attachment max size so low anyway?
The server has a tiny hard drive.

VPS's are meant for hosting game servers and very light web hosting - the ZDoom forum fits more the category of "moderate" rather than "light".
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26439
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Post by Enjay »

Looks to me like the old classic "the model only gets rendered if you can see the sector that the model actor is placed in" situation.

Try giving your model actor a RenderRadius value big enough to civer the size of the model and see if that works.

[edit]
I didn't actually check to see whether 256 was fully suitable for this map/model, but as a quick test this seems to have worked:

Code: Select all

ACTOR Shooting_Gallery 4000 {
	Radius 8
	Height 16
	+NOGRAVITY
	RenderRadius 256
	
	States {
		Spawn:
			EMPT AA 8
			Loop
	}
}
[/edit]

[edit2]
Yeah, having now poked around in the map and seen the model, you might want to go bigger with the render radius - maybe 512 or possibly a little bit more because the longest visible distance in the map is 1152 and its just one big model placed more or less in the middle of the map.
[/edit2]
User avatar
SPZ1
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:01 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Prefab Room Disappearing

Post by SPZ1 »

RenderRadius 512.0 seems to completely fix the problem :mrgreen:

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”