Doom Builder Doom in Hexen Format Teleporter (ID 70)

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Post Reply
chikokevo
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 9:42 am

Doom Builder Doom in Hexen Format Teleporter (ID 70)

Post by chikokevo »

So I am using this teleporteder. It works. 2 destinations and 2 activators. Pretty simple there. However, whenever I untick "Repeatable Action" on my activator lines, I still get repeatable teleporter. I want this one in particular to be single use.
And what I try I just doesnt do much. It is still repeatable..

What can I be missing?
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Doom Builder Doom in Hexen Format Teleporter (ID 70)

Post by Enjay »

Do you have several teleport lines on the teleport pad? If so, each one will be single-use. Therefore if one has been triggered, the others are still available to be used.

If this is the case, you may need to do it via ACS or change the shape/layout of your teleport pad.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4120
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Doom Builder Doom in Hexen Format Teleporter (ID 70)

Post by Kappes Buur »

Usually, when the teleporting is available in an open sector, all linedefs are set with the special. As Enjay mentioned, in that case crossing each linedef causes a potential teleport. To avoid that from happening you could invoke a script such as this:

Code: Select all

#include "zcommon.acs"

int tele = TRUE;

script 1 (void)
{    
    while ( tele == TRUE )
    {
    do stuff .....
    
// now set the variable to FALSE to prevent another activation
    tele = FALSE ; 
    }
} 
to trigger the teleport from only one linedef

or the teleport is available from only one side

or you could use an Actor enters Sector thing, set to non-repeatable.
Post Reply

Return to “Mapping”