[WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.60

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
FelesNoctis
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:36 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.11

Post by FelesNoctis »

Image

v0.11
  • Bottom-Left Panels:
    • Air Supply bar is now on a toggle, default "false", due to Zandronum not supporting "IfWaterLevel"
One of these days I'll remember to do a final test of Zandronum before pushing an update. Maybe.
User avatar
FelesNoctis
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:36 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.12

Post by FelesNoctis »

Image

Full changelog available within the archive, for the moment anyway.

Quick changes include some general restructuring again, as well as support for Led's Generic Weapon Mod and Brutal Doom Platinum v2.0

v0.12 won't last very long though, count on that.
User avatar
FelesNoctis
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:36 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by FelesNoctis »

Image

Simultaneous release with Brutal Doom Platinum v3.0!

Time to RIP AND TEAR
User avatar
EmeraldCoasttt
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:35 pm

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by EmeraldCoasttt »

It's been an absolute joy working alongside you, thank you so much for taking interest in my mod and the hud looks great!
User avatar
FelesNoctis
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:36 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by FelesNoctis »

EmeraldCoasttt wrote:It's been an absolute joy working alongside you, thank you so much for taking interest in my mod and the hud looks great!
Loved working with you too! Hopefully we can continue that. Just, you know, as long as you can put up with my inane questions. :P


EDIT:
Screenshots finally added to the first post!
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:25 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by mamaluigisbagel »

Cool to see the simultaneous release! I noticed some things now that I finally got around to using this HUD. I'll post a picture that'll show 1 and 2.

1. The ammo bar seems to get cut off a little by the numeric ammo counter
2. Its not very noticeable here, but I think the blue bar for overhealth/armor looks weird, like only the top half of the bar increases instead of a second full bar filling up.
3. I saw that this hud is "customizable through in-game menus" yet when playing with Brutal Doom Platinum 3.0 I don't see the menu for the hud anywhere.

These are in the screenshots in the OP too, so I assume its known, but is it intentional?

Plasmazippo
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2021 11:55 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by Plasmazippo »

Personally I like the look of the ammo counter being overlaid on top of the ammo bar, it looks neat. That said, for vanilla Doom that has no ammo reserve that goes to 4 digits, it's kinda weird to have a numerical display that big...

As for the second blue bar, I've seen it happen in Return To Castle Wolfenstein with the stamina bar after you pick up a beer and it goes over max. Maybe it's what Feles intended to emulate?
User avatar
FelesNoctis
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:36 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by FelesNoctis »

mamaluigisbagel wrote:Cool to see the simultaneous release! I noticed some things now that I finally got around to using this HUD. I'll post a picture that'll show 1 and 2.

1. The ammo bar seems to get cut off a little by the numeric ammo counter
2. Its not very noticeable here, but I think the blue bar for overhealth/armor looks weird, like only the top half of the bar increases instead of a second full bar filling up.
3. I saw that this hud is "customizable through in-game menus" yet when playing with Brutal Doom Platinum 3.0 I don't see the menu for the hud anywhere.

These are in the screenshots in the OP too, so I assume its known, but is it intentional?
Plasmazippo wrote:Personally I like the look of the ammo counter being overlaid on top of the ammo bar, it looks neat. That said, for vanilla Doom that has no ammo reserve that goes to 4 digits, it's kinda weird to have a numerical display that big...

As for the second blue bar, I've seen it happen in Return To Castle Wolfenstein with the stamina bar after you pick up a beer and it goes over max. Maybe it's what Feles intended to emulate?
@mamaluigisbagel
#1: That's intentional. It's meant to look like it's nestled into the corner of the current ammo counter, and bottom-heavy to make it obvious at a glance when your ammo is getting low.
#2: Also intentional. As Plasmazippo mentioned, the blue bar is an "overmax" indicator. It's meant to highlight how much additional health/armor over the base 100 you have. In the future however I may provide an alternate version for people who prefer a solid bar instead.
#3: You missed menu package! :D On the download page there are links pointing at the most recent Menu PK3 as well. It's separated from the main HUD package as there are some settings GZDoom has that Zandronum doesn't. I updated the main post to make that more obvious.

@Plasmazippo
It's four digits in order to provide support for non-standard ammo pools that still use the vanilla ammo types. While there are specific mods supported, I also kept in mind more generic mods that may do things in unexpected ways. For instance, this is why in Vanilla DOOM you still have an "Arms" bar that shows the full "1-0" (and I also provided a customization option to hide it). There were some design choices and sacrifices made in order to accommodate "it just works" whenever possible. :P That also relates to the change in the current ammo bar that mamaluigisbagel mentioned. The art was redone to accommodate a fourth digit, so that there's less of a possibility a mod will cause it to break out of its panel, or not display an accurate ammo count.
Alonso84
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 28, 2022 3:49 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by Alonso84 »

Is there HXRTC HUD compatible with last Project Brutality? Current HUD works, but incorrect.
User avatar
ShockwaveS08
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 7:29 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Android 10
Location: Manhattan, IL

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by ShockwaveS08 »

Not yet, but support is planned in the future; we're currently taking a break after extensively implementing support for Brutal Doom Platinum.
User avatar
Dynamo
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Industrial District

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by Dynamo »

This is very nice, though in cases where there's too many keys (as seen here) wouldn't it be better to have the key box laid out that way?
User avatar
FelesNoctis
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:36 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by FelesNoctis »

Dynamo wrote:This is very nice, though in cases where there's too many keys (as seen here) wouldn't it be better to have the key box laid out that way?
That problem with that is it's more related to the map than any specific gameplay mod, which is what I'm trying to cover here, not to mention being highly variable in implementation. I may have to provide another toggle specifically for a special keys box, but even then, making it "universal" (or as close as possible) isn't really possible. Different maps may use different colors of keys, and it'd be very difficult/impossible to cover every option out there.

If you can fill me in on some maps/mods that have keys lists like this I can add a toggleable panel for it as best I can. Keys are already handled by script on the back end, so it's really just a matter of providing the tokens for detection and implementing the display in the best way possible. I may have this panel overlap skulls and cards like the vanilla HUD does just to save space.

Also, obligatory:
Image


EDIT:
Update to that. The Keys panel in the next release now has a toggle for increased size, going from 1x6 to 3x8. Hopefully that should cover those maps out there with crazy numbers of keys. :P



EDIT2:
Preview of the next version, which has support for Brutal Doom v21 and Brutal Doom Community Expansion!

- Purist CE Unmaker's Upgrades
User avatar
Dynamo
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Industrial District

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by Dynamo »

Perfect :thumb: That is a very good change! Is support for Doom CE also planned while you're at it?
User avatar
FelesNoctis
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:36 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.20

Post by FelesNoctis »

Dynamo wrote:Perfect :thumb: That is a very good change! Is support for Doom CE also planned while you're at it?
It wasn't, but I can add it to the suggested list. Just to confirm, are we talking about these? https://www.moddb.com/mods/doom-ce
User avatar
FelesNoctis
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:36 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] HXRTC HUD Platinum v0.21

Post by FelesNoctis »

Image

v0.21 BRUTAL
  • General:
    • All mod- (also vanilla-) specific scripts have been pulled out of the shared file and now each have their own.
      Every mod supported will have its own script, even if it would still use vanilla tokens. This allows for quick changes in the future, and also cuts back on loops constantly running over logic checks.
      Due to both of the above, mod existence logic checks have been swapped to look for their token before running a loop, so they run once on map load and then never again if their mod isn't active.
  • Bottom-Right Panels:
    • Keys Bar now uses DrawKeysBar function. This means the HUD now uses the default icon assigned to a key, but is much more flexible regarding mod support
      Keys Bar is now a panel that can toggle between 1x6 and 3x8 layouts, for when maps have crazy numbers of keys
  • Mod Support:
    • Brutal Doom v21
      Brutal Doom Community Expansion
      Brutal Doom Platinum v3.0: Updated support to have generic fallbacks for BDPv2.0's addon weapons until full support is confirmed

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”