Psprites scaled different between hardware/software

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48543
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Psprites scaled different between hardware/software

Post by Graf Zahl »

Please post your GZDoom.ini.
User avatar
NeoTerraNova
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:18 pm
Location: Western North Southlandia (East Side)

Re: Psprites scaled different between hardware/software

Post by NeoTerraNova »

Okay. Here you go, sir. I removed my computer account name from the file name for privacy reasons.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48543
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Psprites scaled different between hardware/software

Post by Graf Zahl »

It is your weird non-standard screen size with a mismatched forced aspect ratio that's causing all the problems. Expect this to seriously break for any other user out there.

These values are so far off the norm that the weapon code for the software renderer gets things a bit wrong. You have to test this stuff with standard screen sizes and matching aspect ratios to make sure it works for other users.
User avatar
NeoTerraNova
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:18 pm
Location: Western North Southlandia (East Side)

Re: Psprites scaled different between hardware/software

Post by NeoTerraNova »

Wow. I had no idea. Could you explain to me what I need to do to fix this? I have no idea what the screen stuff does or how to work it. Or, if it's easier, what the "standard screen sizes and aspect ratios" might actually be. My computer's at 1600 x 900 screen resolution, natively.

Also, thank you so much for taking the time to help me with this. I had no idea what was going wrong.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48543
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Psprites scaled different between hardware/software

Post by Graf Zahl »

The most important thing is to go to "Set Video Mode", set "Force Aspect Ratio" to 'off' and then set the screen to your native resolution, either by setting "Custom Width/Height" or choosing something from the resolution presets submenu.
User avatar
NeoTerraNova
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:18 pm
Location: Western North Southlandia (East Side)

Re: Psprites scaled different between hardware/software

Post by NeoTerraNova »

Oh! Okay. Thank you. I am ashamed to admit that I didn't quite get what all the video options were meant to do and I had no idea I was doing something "nonstandard."

Thank you very much, again, for your help.

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”