Plutonia 2 replaces all instances of "Doom" with "jp_dea"

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3875
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Plutonia 2 replaces all instances of "Doom" with "jp_dea"

Post by Marisa the Magician »

This is the weirdest bug I've ever encountered.

Steps to reproduce:

1. Load Plutonia 2
2. Go to Display Settings -> Hardware Options
3. Set the sector light mode to "Doom"
4. The option says "jp_dea" instead.

Also appears to happen when setting compatibility mode to "Doom", but not "Doom (strict)".

This seems to be caused by the wad's dehacked patch changing the d_doom track name to d_jp_dea, but it appears that it's matching pretty much any instance of the string "doom" by itself.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17718
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Plutonia 2 replaces all instances of "Doom" with "jp_dea

Post by Gez »

Marisa Kirisame wrote: This seems to be caused by the wad's dehacked patch changing the d_doom track name to d_jp_dea, but it appears that it's matching pretty much any instance of the string "doom" by itself.
Technically, the patch changes doom with jp_dea, because the d_ prefix is not part of the music track strings, it's appended automatically. Cf. musicinfo_t S_music[] array in vanilla's sounds.c.
User avatar
nova++
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2021 3:13 am

Re: Plutonia 2 replaces all instances of "Doom" with "jp_dea

Post by nova++ »

I just want to express my appreciation for how amazingly strange this bug is. It brings a tear to the eye.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48514
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Plutonia 2 replaces all instances of "Doom" with "jp_dea

Post by Graf Zahl »

There's nothing strange about this.
This mod uses the vanilla string replacement logic which tries to match "Doom" in all defined strings instead of a fixed label - and then replaces all of them because it has no idea which is the correct one.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48514
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Plutonia 2 replaces all instances of "Doom" with "jp_dea

Post by Graf Zahl »

Added a workaround for this special case.

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”