GZDoom 4.7.0 released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Redneckerz »

Kinsie wrote:
Redneckerz wrote:GZDoom has a D3D9 renderer
...does it?
Ughhhhhhh

Its a backend. I guess that serves it far better than saying it ''renders'' something.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48324
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Graf Zahl »

No, in this case it implies thecwrong thing - it is just the presentation layer for the softpoly backend.
User avatar
Phredreeke
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:14 am

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Phredreeke »

Does this mean that graphics hardware with less than OpenGL 3.3 is unsupported outside of Windows even using the software renderers?
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Redneckerz »

Graf Zahl wrote:No, in this case it implies thecwrong thing - it is just the presentation layer for the softpoly backend.
Fine. Direct3D9 is used as a presentation layer for the softpoly backend.
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3097
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Blzut3 »

Phredreeke wrote:Does this mean that graphics hardware with less than OpenGL 3.3 is unsupported outside of Windows even using the software renderers?
No, on Linux SoftPoly is backed by SDL_Renderer which has a software fallback itself so should work on literally anything. This extra layer does have a performance penalty though so even though SDL_Renderer can present through OpenGL as well (not sure what version it requires), as well as GL ES or Vulkan, it will be slower than going through GZDoom native support for these APIs. Probably better than the software render driver, but never tried on relevant hardware.

On macOS SoftPoly is backed by OpenGL. Not sure if it would technically require a lower version, but kind of irrelevant since you'll be stopped by the OS version requirement before you can have hardware poor enough for it to matter.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Enjay »

I notice that the forum download is still pointing to 4.6.1:

Image
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13084
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Rachael »

Thanks, fixed.
User avatar
RKaji
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2021 3:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by RKaji »

Hi, the update is great, a lot of useful things have been done!
VindSole
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 10:43 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by VindSole »

On macOS M1 material textures doesn't seem to work.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21500
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by wildweasel »

VindSole wrote:On macOS M1 material textures doesn't seem to work.
Please file a report in our Bugs forum, not in News.
Ludicrous_peridot
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:46 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Ludicrous_peridot »

I am curious about the rationale for this change
block user overrides for the logic module of core fragment shaders.
Prior to 4.7 it was fairly easy to change the looks of fuzz effect globally by overriding one of the built in fuzz shaders with your own and then configuring the corresponding gl_fuzztype.
Is there any other easy and straightforward way for this with 4.7 and onwards?
Or could it be possible to allow gl_fuzztype to reference user shaders and not have its value clamped at 8?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48324
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Graf Zahl »

The rationale was that the core logic may be changed in future versions, making any such mod incompatible.
Ludicrous_peridot
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:46 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Ludicrous_peridot »

Graf Zahl wrote:The rationale was that the core logic may be changed in future versions, making any such mod incompatible.
Thanks. Seem's a slightly longer version of the rationale in this other thread viewtopic.php?f=15&t=72875#p1198316
SLON
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:09 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by SLON »

Graf Zahl wrote: Pre Vulkan hardware currently is at ~13 %.
Tell me, please, where do you get all these numbers from? My computer, for comparison, does not support Vulcan properly, and I do not understand why I should buy an unnecessary one to play a 30-year-old game. Moreover, I know those who play on computers with a truly ridiculous power of the present day.

If this is some kind of "segregation" for "non-cool gamers", then just say so.
User avatar
Caligari87
User Accounts Assistant
Posts: 5997
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: GZDoom 4.7.0 released

Post by Caligari87 »

SLON wrote:If this is some kind of "segregation" for "non-cool gamers", then just say so.
It's not. The numbers come from the hardware survey that some versions of GZDoom have. Users are able to report their hardware configuration directly through GZDoom. Stats don't lie, your hardware is increasingly in a minority among GZDoom's users.

GZDoom is not a 30-year-old game. It's a modern engine which happens to use the same base resources as a 30-year-old game. If you only want to play Doom, you can use Chocolate Doom, Crispy Doom, PrBoom, or even DOSBox. If you want the latest fancy mods with PBR texture shaders and 3D models and advanced scripting capabilities, then you need modern hardware to run GZDoom.

8-)

Return to “ZDoom (and related) News”