Ambient sounds won't work

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
OkDoomer174
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:12 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: The Shores of Hell

Ambient sounds won't work

Post by OkDoomer174 »

I was trying to make an ambient sound using the AmbientSound thing in UDMF and SNDINFO, but I can't get it to work.

Here's the contents of my SNDINFO:

Code: Select all

sound ambient/hum "sounds/DSHUM.ogg"
$ambient 1 ambient/hum point continuous
And here's the arguments for my AmbientSound actor:

Code: Select all

arg0: 1 // Index
arg1: 100 // Volume
arg2: 0 // Minimum distance
arg3: 0 // Maximum distance
arg4: 0 // Scalar for arg3 and arg4
I've also attached my .PK3 (named .ZIP because forums) if you want to take a look at the map itself or the directory structure.
Any help would be much appreciated!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
OkDoomer174
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:12 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: The Shores of Hell

Re: Ambient sounds won't work

Post by OkDoomer174 »

Found out what the problem was. Here's my revised SNDINFO, for those wondering:

Code: Select all

ambient/hum DSHUM
$ambient 1 ambient/hum point continuous 1
User avatar
Gunslaher_Pi
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 3:41 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Aussieland - 3D REALMS OG DESIGNER

Re: Ambient sounds won't work

Post by Gunslaher_Pi »

*bump*

Yes, also you can simplify it further using;

$ambient 1 mysound point continuous 1

Example added for advisory purposes. It's the most simple straight forward line for ambience that I was shown. However, I'm still figuring out how to reduce the area of affect and fade off distance.

Hope this helps.

Return to “Assets (and other stuff)”