Hi. Is it possible to make skins true color? I understand that translatable colors would be hard to make work in true color but what if you don't need that? I just want my skins to look right in-game. Seems like it should be doable somehow since literally everything else in the game can use true color. Maybe there's some workaround that I'm missing?
What I want it to look like:
What it does look like:
True color skins?
Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
-
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:06 pm
True color skins?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 1354
- Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Re: True color skins?
Quite easily. In SLADE select any graphic lump (let's say, a sprite), right button >> Graphic >> Convert to ..
In the newly selected dialog change conversion type from "Doom fgx(paletted)" to "PNG (truecolor)" and you're done.
In the newly selected dialog change conversion type from "Doom fgx(paletted)" to "PNG (truecolor)" and you're done.
-
-
- Posts: 26443
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Re: True color skins?
I don't think that's what OP is asking for. By default, the game forces player skins into the Doom palette because player skins may need to be translated. So, even when the player sprites are in true colour (as I think these ones already are) the game reduces them to the Doom palette.
From memory, I think that the +DONTTRANSLATE flag might be able to do it.
From memory, I think that the +DONTTRANSLATE flag might be able to do it.
-
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:06 pm
Re: True color skins?
So +DONTTRANSLATE goes in the S_SKIN lump or where would I put that?Enjay wrote:From memory, I think that the +DONTTRANSLATE flag might be able to do it.
-
-
- Posts: 17752
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: True color skins?
You'll have to use it on the player class (in DECORATE or ZScript). Which is a bit cumbersome if your skin is for the normal player class, because then you have to do a pointless redefinition of it.Azagthoth wrote:So +DONTTRANSLATE goes in the S_SKIN lump or where would I put that?Enjay wrote:From memory, I think that the +DONTTRANSLATE flag might be able to do it.
It doesn't seem to be supported in S_SKIN, unfortunately, but that may be worth a suggestion.
-
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:06 pm
Re: True color skins?
By player class do you mean "ACTOR DoomPlayer : PlayerPawn"? That does seem cumbersome but I might be able to work with it for now.Gez wrote:You'll have to use it on the player class
Guess I could make a request on the matter. Don't see why it would be hard to implement, but what do I know.
-
-
- Posts: 26443
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Re: True color skins?
Yes, and no. You should inherit from that class and define your own which only needs to have the +DONTTRANSLATE flag in itAzagthoth wrote:By player class do you mean "ACTOR DoomPlayer : PlayerPawn"?
Code: Select all
ACTOR AzagthothsPlayer : DoomPlayer
{
+DONTTRANSLATE
}
It is indeed cumbersome versus what you wanted to do, but fingers crossed it will work.
-
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:06 pm
Re: True color skins?
It did work! Only problem is if you're playing a wad with a different PlayerPawn it no longer works. Think I will make a request to add it to S_Skin. That way it could be applied automatically to any PlayerPawn being used. If it allows skins to begin with of course.Enjay wrote:fingers crossed it will work.
-
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 3:24 pm
Re: True color skins?
than just use zscript it can do edits without redefining thee classAzagthoth wrote:It did work! Only problem is if you're playing a wad with a different PlayerPawn it no longer works. Think I will make a request to add it to S_Skin. That way it could be applied automatically to any PlayerPawn being used. If it allows skins to begin with of course.Enjay wrote:fingers crossed it will work.