Re-PowerSlave v1

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
MaxiClouds
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 2:23 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by MaxiClouds »

Image

Hello there! Today i want to show you my latest work, Re-PowerSlave!

Description:

Re-PowerSlave is my reimagination of original DOS game PowerSlave. Please note that this mod has nothing to do with a similar mod called "Re-Exhumed". Yeah, names are really similar, but this is separate mods from different authors.
So, what exactly is Re-PowerSlave? How i already said, this is my vision of PowerSlave. Re-PowerSlave try to be faithful to classic game, but also try make game more smooth and pleasant to play. Right now mod have 5 maps that you can play from start to finish! But be aware, that's map order not same as original right now. Hope you like it!

Also if you interested in my work, be sure check my other mod called Re-Blood!
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=64783

Some of the key features:

- Almost all weapon sprites are redrawn
- New weapon: shotgun
- Flamethrower now are more useful
- Grenades are more comfortable to use
- Recreating features from original game
- New features, like headshots for some of the enemies

Download:
Spoiler:
Screenshots:
Spoiler:
Video:
Spoiler:
Last edited by MaxiClouds on Tue Jul 20, 2021 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Phredreeke
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:14 am

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by Phredreeke »

Looks cool. Would be nice if someone would record some new lines for Jon. Compared to the other Build protagonists he doesn't speak much
spoone
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:36 pm

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by spoone »

Phredreeke wrote:Looks cool. Would be nice if someone would record some new lines for Jon. Compared to the other Build protagonists he doesn't speak much
Right? I always expected him to be an Indiana Jones like character, but they don't give him anything cool to say. Heck even the Rednecks from Redneck Rampage have more to say than this guy.
spoone
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:36 pm

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by spoone »

So far so good. I really liked what you did with Re-Blood. I'm curious though are you planning to make a Gzdoom mod of every build engine game? I've been waiting to see someone do a Tekwar for Gzdoom.
User avatar
furyweb
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:23 pm
Location: UK

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by furyweb »

I get an error when trying to load the mod up



any idea?
User avatar
QuakedoomNukem Cz
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:27 am
Location: Smržovka; Czech Republic

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by QuakedoomNukem Cz »

furyweb wrote:I get an error when trying to load the mod up



any idea?
You have to use GZD 4.6.0+.
User avatar
MaxiClouds
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 2:23 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by MaxiClouds »

furyweb wrote:I get an error when trying to load the mod up



any idea?
Try to run just gzdoom, there should be in the list of wads
User avatar
SAmik37
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:29 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by SAmik37 »

furyweb wrote:I get an error when trying to load the mod up



any idea?
This error appears when you try to load this mod twice. There is two solutions to that. Just use it as mod, double click on "Re-Powerslave v1.ipk3" and choose DOOM 2 as IWAD upon starting. Or put "Re-Powerslave v1.ipk3" in your GZDoom folder and just launch ONLY GZDoom and select Re-Powerslave as IWAD. So, what exactly are happened on your screenshot, i guess you double click on "Re-Powerslave v1.ipk3", GZDoom identified Re-Powerslave as IWAD and then you choose Re-Powerslave in IWAD selection, and now you have Re-Powerslave as IWAD AND as mod, and that makes file to load twice, what cause errors. Hope i helped you! GZDoom version has nothing to do with that. As far as i remember development of this mod started on GZDoom 4.4.0, so i think this mod should support older versions of GZDoom than 4.6.0. Fun fact: switching to a newer version of GZDoom caused some bugs to appear, that needed to be fixed
User avatar
furyweb
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:23 pm
Location: UK

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by furyweb »

Thanks for that guys. Got it working. Amazing work on the mod. Look forward to updates.
User avatar
m1lk
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2021 10:00 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by m1lk »

looks great! thank you, ill try it out
User avatar
BFG
Posts: 603
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by BFG »

Please make a toggle option for the original gun sprites
JohnnyTheWolf
Posts: 1144
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:37 am

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by JohnnyTheWolf »

Incredible work! :thumb:

However, I have never played PowerSlave/Exhumed before and as such, I am not sure I understand some of the game's mechanics.

Is there a way to do a long grenade throw? What are the Magical Orbs for? Do they act as armour? And is the "Use Inventory" key only bound to the Torch?

Finally, is there a way to avoid taking fall damage from the parts where you have no choice but to drop down a hole in the floor?
User avatar
Phredreeke
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:14 am

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by Phredreeke »

The magical orbs power your item pickups (you need to have both the item in question as well as sufficient magic power to use it)
User avatar
jdredalert
Posts: 1662
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 10:13 pm

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by jdredalert »

As someone that always loved Powerslave (both PC and the PSX versions), this mod is like a dream come true. Please, keep it up!
User avatar
SAmik37
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:29 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Re-PowerSlave v1

Post by SAmik37 »

BFG wrote:Please make a toggle option for the original gun sprites
I don't think you should expect this to happen. Because this is whole point of mod, re-made PowerSlave to fit to vision of author, which way he think PowerSlave should looks and play
JohnnyTheWolf wrote:Incredible work! :thumb:

However, I have never played PowerSlave/Exhumed before and as such, I am not sure I understand some of the game's mechanics.

Is there a way to do a long grenade throw? What are the Magical Orbs for? Do they act as armour? And is the "Use Inventory" key only bound to the Torch?

Finally, is there a way to avoid taking fall damage from the parts where you have no choice but to drop down a hole in the floor?
Just hold fire button longer i guess? That should work. Magical Orbs for your "mana / magic pool", inventory system in PowerSlave works like this: How Phredreeke already mentioned, to use item you need both item and enough mana required to use this item. And no, use inventory button uses item that you selected, to select items use next / previous inventory buttons (Of course first you need find other items before you can select and use them). About fall damage, nope you can't avoid this, so make sure you have enough health points before you do this!

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”