Polygon Count for Static Objects?

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
TinfoilTyrant
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 2:12 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Great Lakes

Polygon Count for Static Objects?

Post by TinfoilTyrant »

Howdy, I'm looking to implement a couple static meshes into the background of a map but unsure of how many polygons/triangles to limit. Looking to use a few Fu Lions to decorate but not sure if MD3 or MD2 would be more apt and what limitations are involved. Previous searches yielded a six year old dead topic that focused on animated meshes but nothing of use for me.
User avatar
Caligari87
Admin
Posts: 6189
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Polygon Count for Static Objects?

Post by Caligari87 »

Static objects would be better done as OBJ in my understanding (which GZDoom does support).

As far as polygon count, I don't think there's any hard limit for OBJ so it's just minimum(whatever_looks_good) and max(whatever_doesnt_lag).

8-)
User avatar
Cherno
Posts: 1315
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:25 am

Re: Polygon Count for Static Objects?

Post by Cherno »

Doesn't really matter too much. Use either MD3 or OBJ. MD3's can't be too big (I think 256 units in each direction?), so they'd have to be exported as a smaller version and then upscaled in GZDoom. OBJ models have no real size restrictions and are what I prefer for large, static models.

Return to “Assets (and other stuff)”