Intelligent Supplies 1.6

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Zhs2
Posts: 1267
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:29 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere

Re: Intelligent Supplies 1.6

Post by Zhs2 »

Does not sound normal, no. Intelligent Supplies tries not to touch the items the base pickups are representing, only copying information like sprite, scale, and so forth (some amounts get set for weapons (internal ammo held), ammo (ditto), and armor (armor value remaining) in the case IS behavior is turned off during play, for balance purposes.) If you can point me to the mod this happens with I can investigate.
User avatar
ShockwaveS08
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 7:29 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Android 10
Location: Manhattan, IL

Re: Intelligent Supplies 1.6

Post by ShockwaveS08 »

From what I've played with Intelligent Supplies so far, this happens with...

Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony - https://github.com/Realm667/WolfenDoom (happens with 9mm ammo pickups, possibly others too)
Project Brutality v3.0 - https://github.com/pa1nki113r/Project_B ... ch_Staging (happened when I picked up an SMG for the first time, while topped off on pistol ammo; the filled magazine that got left behind was literally as large as my character!)
User avatar
Zhs2
Posts: 1267
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:29 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere

Re: Intelligent Supplies 1.6

Post by Zhs2 »

Ah, another artifact of mod design. While testing with Project Brutality I've discovered this happens because the base ammo type that the weapon uses is spawned, compared to the pretty version that is randomized via spawners - you can see this yourself with or without IS loaded by typing "summon PistolBullets" into console to see the underlying ammo type and comparing it to "summon BulletCartridge", which is the ammo you see placed in maps. On the other hand this made me realize that the ammo I want to spawn into maps (i.e. dropped from weapons or backpack) should be allowed to be replaced, instead of spawning a giant ugly basic Cell with a replaced graphic as dropped from the plasma rifles - uploaded it as a ninjafix because it's not a breaking change. (This might have fixed whatever's going on in BoA, didn't see anything weird there)
User avatar
Zhs2
Posts: 1267
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:29 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere

Re: Intelligent Supplies 1.6

Post by Zhs2 »

Bump to note that I've uploaded another fix in the form of a null check where backpacks caused my session of RAMP2022 to come crashing down. Redownload if you get an attempt to write to address zero (probably to an ammo type that never actually spawned, whoooops.) Also at the same time made any and all ammo spawning code consistent in checking for existence and sprite frame.
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 869
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Intelligent Supplies 1.6

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

saw this and was hoping it would compile ammo in an area into 1 stack or something to save on actors.
this is still neat though...
User avatar
Rowsol
Posts: 940
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:31 am

Re: Intelligent Supplies 1.6

Post by Rowsol »

scratch that. sorry.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”