Does this work with other weapon mods or sound mods? I am using a PSX sound wad for monsters and weapons. I tried to run this with and without it and got this error message. Script error, "LiveReverb.pk3:cvarinfo.txt" line 1:
cvar 'LR_lowhealth' already exists
LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 58
- Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:57 pm
-
- Posts: 878
- Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
what is your load order? do you use LiveReverb before or after the sound mods? I usually put sound mods at the topCheater87 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 25, 2022 9:43 pm Does this work with other weapon mods or sound mods? I am using a PSX sound wad for monsters and weapons. I tried to run this with and without it and got this error message. Script error, "LiveReverb.pk3:cvarinfo.txt" line 1:
cvar 'LR_lowhealth' already exists
-
- Posts: 104
- Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:38 am
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
This sounds like you loaded the mod twice. Maybe one of your other mods already includes this mod? I heard of people that put these similar mods together in some packs.Cheater87 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 25, 2022 9:43 pm Does this work with other weapon mods or sound mods? I am using a PSX sound wad for monsters and weapons. I tried to run this with and without it and got this error message. Script error, "LiveReverb.pk3:cvarinfo.txt" line 1:
cvar 'LR_lowhealth' already exists
-
- Posts: 34
- Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2021 11:18 am
- Location: Making weird noises.
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
Hey, I've been trying to get this to run with Kinsie's Consolation Prize (specifically the latest PSX Doom version) and LiveReverb deactivates itself at the start of any map. I tried adjusting the load order but it didn't do anything. Any clues on what's going on? Not sure if this matters but I'm using LZDoom 3.88b, and even with no mods other than LiveReverb itself it seems to work.
-
- Posts: 2958
- Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
LiveReverb automatically disables itself when a map uses its own reverb things, which I believe PSX Doom does (each map has a reverb defined for sectors with a ceiling, and no reverb for sectors with a sky).GoalDude-00 wrote: ↑Thu Jan 26, 2023 8:10 am Hey, I've been trying to get this to run with Kinsie's Consolation Prize (specifically the latest PSX Doom version) and LiveReverb deactivates itself at the start of any map. I tried adjusting the load order but it didn't do anything. Any clues on what's going on? Not sure if this matters but I'm using LZDoom 3.88b, and even with no mods other than LiveReverb itself it seems to work.
-
- Posts: 34
- Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2021 11:18 am
- Location: Making weird noises.
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
Makes sense, guess something else is borked within Consolation Prize since it hasn't had reverb for me for...a few years now I think? I'm hopeless at handling these things, so I'll probably just bring this up in Consolation Prize's thread.
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2023 4:28 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
I really love this mod, it makes DOOM sound more modern!
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2023 5:51 am
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Operating System Version (Optional): Win 10
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
Thank you very much for this wonderful mod! Now the atmospheric and dark levels will look even better!
-
- Posts: 80
- Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:22 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
Thanks Sunbeam and Caligari87 for this mod and the explanation.
Here is my port in "pure" Zscript. Use it at will, Improvements and suggestions welcome.
Turns out, looking for the SoundEnvironement actor in GZDoom leads to a very short implementation in Zscript, which in turns simply goes to calling (Actor).CurSector.SetEnvironnementID().
Better still, the much more friendly (Actor).CurSector.SetEnvironnement("Env Name") is also available.
The custom FastProjectile is replaced by a LineTrace.
Update :
- Version 2 : the check got underwater was (Player).waterlevel >= 2 while it is really (Player).waterlevel > 2 to be really underwater.
- Version 3 : For LineTrace, using OffsetZ = plr.mo.height - plr.mo.floorclip ; instead of 0.0 works with doors and is the best all-around setting.
- Version 4 : Tuning to get Bathroom on very small rooms (Doom 2 MAP01 exit Room) or Hangar for the most gigantic spaces (before Mountains), ex : Combat Shock 2 Map04 first arena.
Here is my port in "pure" Zscript. Use it at will, Improvements and suggestions welcome.
Turns out, looking for the SoundEnvironement actor in GZDoom leads to a very short implementation in Zscript, which in turns simply goes to calling (Actor).CurSector.SetEnvironnementID().
Better still, the much more friendly (Actor).CurSector.SetEnvironnement("Env Name") is also available.
The custom FastProjectile is replaced by a LineTrace.
Update :
- Version 2 : the check got underwater was (Player).waterlevel >= 2 while it is really (Player).waterlevel > 2 to be really underwater.
- Version 3 : For LineTrace, using OffsetZ = plr.mo.height - plr.mo.floorclip ; instead of 0.0 works with doors and is the best all-around setting.
- Version 4 : Tuning to get Bathroom on very small rooms (Doom 2 MAP01 exit Room) or Hangar for the most gigantic spaces (before Mountains), ex : Combat Shock 2 Map04 first arena.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 104
- Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:38 am
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
@Blackmore1014
I'm glad you like it!
@vsonnier
Though I haven't used the ZScript version myself, it seems that (again) ZScript makes modding a lot easier by giving access to many things where you need workarounds with ACS. I should have implemented BorderDoom with ZScript - except it didn't exist at the time.
I'm glad you like it!

@vsonnier
Though I haven't used the ZScript version myself, it seems that (again) ZScript makes modding a lot easier by giving access to many things where you need workarounds with ACS. I should have implemented BorderDoom with ZScript - except it didn't exist at the time.

-
- Posts: 2958
- Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!
The ZScript version seems to behave differently to the original. I don't really have time to look deeply into it, but I notice the ZScript version is more "touchier" about the detected room size. For example, in the hub map of Elementalism, the original would have a large room reverberation while in the main area, but the ZScript version seems to only give that large room reverberation while standing in specific spots in the main area. As if it's either calculating a different distance from the tracers, or the tracers are being fired at different angles to not cover the general area as well, or maybe the ZScript tracers are being blocked by things the original wasn't.