[0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Moderator: Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Post Reply
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

[0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by Gez »

I use mwheelleft/mwheelright to change inventory selection. It works fine in GZDoom and has always worked fine for as long as I remember. But it does not work in Raze, I tried in Duke and in Shadow Warrior. I even edited the ini to paste it in the relevant bindings sections (since I couldn't bind them in the customize controls submenu), the binding shows in the menu as a result, but the buttons still have no effect in the game.

Code: Select all

MWheelRight=invnext
MWheelLeft=invprev
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by Graf Zahl »

If it doesn't even work in the menu the keys get eaten long before that. I do not have a device that supports them so I cannot test.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Contact:

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by mjr4077au »

Apparently my M720 Triathlon has a tilt wheel so I can check this out.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Contact:

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by mjr4077au »

Gez wrote:I use mwheelleft/mwheelright to change inventory selection. It works fine in GZDoom and has always worked fine for as long as I remember. But it does not work in Raze, I tried in Duke and in Shadow Warrior. I even edited the ini to paste it in the relevant bindings sections (since I couldn't bind them in the customize controls submenu), the binding shows in the menu as a result, but the buttons still have no effect in the game.

Code: Select all

MWheelRight=invnext
MWheelLeft=invprev
What version of GZDoom are you on? I can't make it work in GZDoom 4.5.0. Binds fine in both games but performs no action. And what OS are you on? I can't see any supporting code in any other platform besides SDL.
Last edited by mjr4077au on Wed Dec 09, 2020 4:18 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by Graf Zahl »

Support in Windows is there, but a bit stupid, see i_mouse.cpp, line 345.
But from the looks of it the second wheel axis is only supported in RawInput and GUI mode, not DInput.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Contact:

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by mjr4077au »

Yeah, but in `FMouse::WheelMoved()` irrespective of what axis is passed to that `WheelMouse[]` array, the game will only set `ev.data` to `KEY_MWHEELDOWN` or `KEY_MWHEELUP`, never keyfefs for `KEY_MWHEELRIGHT` or `KEY_MWHEELLEFT`.

Using raw input on my end (in_mouse 0).


Ignore all of the above... No idea why its not working in either port for me, then.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by Graf Zahl »

Does it even get there for left and right wheel actions?
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Contact:

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by mjr4077au »

I've chased it all the way to `FButtonStatus::PressKey()` and it gets there.

If I do something like "bind MWheelLeft stat", I get stat output in the console, just seems to be +/- commands. +crouch does not work, for instance. Has to be something in `C_DoCommand()`.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by Graf Zahl »

invprev and invnext are not +/-
Binding mouse wheels to button actions is a known problem and simply cannot work because the wheel has no "held down" state.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Contact:

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by mjr4077au »

I'll test that out tomorrow, just jumped into bed sorry. I didn't realise that at the time but appreciate the insight ☺️
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by Gez »

mjr4077au wrote:What version of GZDoom are you on? I can't make it work in GZDoom 4.5.0. Binds fine in both games but performs no action. And what OS are you on? I can't see any supporting code in any other platform besides SDL.
GZDoom 4.5 works fine for me on Windows, as have all previous versions of GZDoom and ZDoom (and Zandronum and Skulltag) since 2007.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by Graf Zahl »

what's your settings for 'in_mouse' in both games?
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by Gez »

GZDoom: 0
Raze: 2 (no idea why, since default is 0 and I don't remember ever changing that)

I changed it to 0 and it now works, thanks. I guess this can be closed.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.8.1] Tiltwheel buttons are not detected

Post by Graf Zahl »

As expected. For some reason the horizontal wheel is not exposed in DInput.
No idea if it doesn't exist there or if it was forgotten.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Bugs [Raze]”