Mars 3D Discussion

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
User avatar
PlayerLin
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by PlayerLin »

Caligari87 wrote:The free download at the remaster site has the converted file I think. At least that's the one I was able to open/run, so it's probably not going anywhere?

8-)
Shit I forgot the English localization version did changed to IWAD header so SLADE can just open the MARS3D.MAD without problem...
But in my Windows and I have M$ Access installed then I feel PITA when try to open it and changed its file name...I don't needed such unchangeable shortcut bullshit...command line still working just annoying...

Well, I guess that's good news. :P
Last edited by PlayerLin on Tue Dec 08, 2020 8:02 am, edited 2 times in total.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17726
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Mars 3D Support

Post by Gez »

sergeirocks100 wrote:I also managed to locate converted versions of the Tao and 3D Hero .MAD files, so i'm more than willing to provide those if asked.
That would be appreciated. :)
User avatar
sergeirocks100
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:17 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Mars 3D Support

Post by sergeirocks100 »

Gez wrote:
sergeirocks100 wrote:I also managed to locate converted versions of the Tao and 3D Hero .MAD files, so i'm more than willing to provide those if asked.
That would be appreciated. :)
Here's the links to the converted files, along with the proper palettes for the graphics:

https://amel.pw/trevie/TAO.WAD.zip

https://amel.pw/trevie/HERO.WAD.zip
User avatar
PlayerLin
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.

Re: Mars 3D Support

Post by PlayerLin »

Thanks for sharing.

The HERO.WAD seems weird because it's 141MB(MARS.WAD is 15.6MB, TAO.WAD is 21.6MB) and if I resave the WAD with SLADE3 by hack it to PWAD header(was IWAD header, and SLADE3 refuse to save if it's an IWAD), it will just reduced to 13.6MB.

I view the file with WinHex, I see lot of weird data and I'm not sure if it was from the installed game or pre-install archive(which using lot of useless data to fill the CD-ROM when the actual game just much smaller, and a method that user needed install the game first, cannot just copy all files to HDD or try to run it on CD), because back year ago, when I finally got and tried to install MARS3D and failed then I checked the pre-install file, the MARS.MAD file on the CD was big, just like this HERO.WAD.

I try to find the ISO of 3D Heroes and check its files, yeah the pre-install HERO.MAD(on the CD) was the same size too.
Well, it's not big deal, just re-save the WAD with SLADE3 and it will fixed I guess.

(For those who wander why no music or sound lump for both Hero and TAO, they are not in the main MAD/WAD archive, they both using CD Music and sound files just like MARS 3D, they're all separated WAV files with other game files.)
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21586
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by wildweasel »

I would suspect the HERO.WAD just has a lot of scrap data stuck to it - back in the day, when our Doom editors of choice were the likes of XWE or WinTex, changes to the WAD file would just be appended to the end of the file, resulting in files that would grow to immense sizes (a hundred megabytes or more) for only a few megs worth of actual data. One would need to hit "Clean up Wad" in order to get rid of all that junk and reduce it to a normal size. I would think the devs of Hero just forgot to hit Clean Up.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17726
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by Gez »

Yeah, it's funny to open some 1995 map and see like three dozen nameless empty lumps added to the end, along with other oddities.
User avatar
PlayerLin
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by PlayerLin »

wildweasel wrote:I would suspect the HERO.WAD just has a lot of scrap data stuck to it - back in the day, when our Doom editors of choice were the likes of XWE or WinTex, changes to the WAD file would just be appended to the end of the file, resulting in files that would grow to immense sizes (a hundred megabytes or more) for only a few megs worth of actual data. One would need to hit "Clean up Wad" in order to get rid of all that junk and reduce it to a normal size. I would think the devs of Hero just forgot to hit Clean Up.
I actually try to install the game from ISO that I got, using its installer via DOSBox SVN Daum.
And this is the result file after install.
Image
The installer will "clean up" the WAD after copying all files and clearly prompted about "rebuilt" the archive.
(The installer was all Trad. Chinese, and I can read them. :wink:)
So, yeah they intended "messed that up", and proper install the game for "fix" that.

Still, not sure if it works perfectly or not as the game still randomly crashing(DOS/4GW pagefault, I see no corrupt texture/artworks, at least before it crashed) in DOSBox SVN Daum, I just try to install and proved what I meant. :P
User avatar
sergeirocks100
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:17 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by sergeirocks100 »

Good news, you can edit Mars 3D's maps in regular Doom level editors:
Screenshot_157.png
This should be expected, since one of the developers himself stated he used a Doom level editor to make the levels, but still.

The executable also appears to have at least partial support for the -file command.

All we would need is a Doom Builder configuration for it, and it would probably open up the ability for third party PWADS to be made for Mars 3D.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16860
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by Captain J »

I knew about this one particular game way before and recently i saw Dwars playing it. I never expected this to happen, like discussing, making it work, it's like music to my ears. Maybe it's just a mishmash of resource from the other games, but i do like the design choice like the enemies and wacky voice that goes "KISSMAIASU".

So yeah. Nice to see this hidden gem. Asian FPS games back in the 90's like the ones from Taiwan, China and South Korea are so much intriguing to see, and to discover! Because we've got more treasures to dig up and whatnot.
User avatar
PlayerLin
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by PlayerLin »

sergeirocks100 wrote: This should be expected, since one of the developers himself stated he used a Doom level editor to make the levels, but still.

The executable also appears to have at least partial support for the -file command.
The whole engine was built based DooM engine spec, lot of DooM function/other related names in the EXE file for test reasons(the engine guy said). So you have BSP and DooM map format support, even some unfinished features like that -file command(and MP support, at least only found textures for that), after all it was an unfinished game with only 7 levels and inaccessible or/and unfinished/copycat levels.

I think you may found some of levels has slime trail happens, that's why I were through it was hacked DooM engine but then found out it just totally something different.
User avatar
Zenon
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 6:05 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: New Zealand

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by Zenon »

I'm sorry to have to bump this from so long ago, but how does one play this in dosbox or something without getting a No-CD error?
Thanks in advance
User avatar
Zenon
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 6:05 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: New Zealand

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by Zenon »

Ah, I got it.
For those with the same problem, download the source port Here, put it in your main Mars3D folder and run it.
User avatar
PlayerLin
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by PlayerLin »

Zenon wrote:Ah, I got it.
For those with the same problem, download the source port Here, put it in your main Mars3D folder and run it.
This port is cool. Just made me feel like playing a DooM TC. lol
But the GL renderer seems buggy on level result screen, and load savegame will shows the intro of the level again and the port thinks my copy of Chinese version is Korean one LOL...other than those minor problems, it's nice to has a port with this...uh, old and weird game.

Kudos to jval1972.
:P
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 994
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by Redneckerz »

PlayerLin wrote:
Zenon wrote:Ah, I got it.
For those with the same problem, download the source port Here, put it in your main Mars3D folder and run it.
This port is cool. Just made me feel like playing a DooM TC. lol
But the GL renderer seems buggy on level result screen, and load savegame will shows the intro of the level again and the port thinks my copy of Chinese version is Korean one LOL...other than those minor problems, it's nice to has a port with this...uh, old and weird game.

Kudos to jval1972.
:P
You should report these on DW, i am sure he will fix it up asap :)
User avatar
sergeirocks100
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:17 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Mars 3D Discussion

Post by sergeirocks100 »

Zenon wrote:Ah, I got it.
For those with the same problem, download the source port Here, put it in your main Mars3D folder and run it.
I'm pleasantly surprised that someone made a source port for such an obscure game.

I hope that this opens up the potential for mods and custom maps.

Return to “General”