[4.4.0] Texture brightmaps

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

[4.4.0] Texture brightmaps

Post by NightFright »

It appears that brightmaps for textures either don't work at all any more or functionality has been changed so that definitions from GZD versions before 4.4.0 do not work any longer.

To reproduce:
Load this brightmaps texture pack from the Brightmaps Plus mod with GZD 4.4.0 (x64). Brightmaps for sprites will work (if you also load that mod pack), but not for textures.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17296
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: [4.4.0] Texture brightmaps

Post by Nash »

Ah, I figured something was off with the level texture brightmaps... or rather, lack there-of... thought it was something wrong I was doing at first. :D Whew~
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48041
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [4.4.0] Texture brightmaps

Post by Graf Zahl »

In Heretic some are working, others are hard to tell because the effect is too subtle when not fullbright, and in Strife the default brightmaps are also there - so it's not the renderer.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26416
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: [4.4.0] Texture brightmaps

Post by Enjay »

Well, I don't know why, but my brightmaps seem to be working in this test level:



There are several hundred textures with brightmaps in that map. I've had a good wander around but I haven't spotted any that are not working or looking in any way different to what they did in 4.3.3.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48041
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [4.4.0] Texture brightmaps

Post by Graf Zahl »

The error only occured on wall textures with more than one patch and the IWAD keyword on the brightmap.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26416
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: [4.4.0] Texture brightmaps

Post by Enjay »

That makes sense. None of mine would have met those criteria.
Guest

Re: [4.4.0] Texture brightmaps

Post by Guest »

Fantastic. Thanks for the fast fix, guys!

Return to “Closed Bugs”