Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Caligari87
Admin
Posts: 6174
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by Caligari87 »

Honestly this sounds like the mod is still being autoloaded somehow. Mods can't permanently change maps.

8-)
Solaela
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:17 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by Solaela »

Cool. So any idea how I can find out how it's doing that? Cause I run that map through the ol drag and drop and it still does it. Zan is competely fine it's just GZdoom that does it even with a fresh copy.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2088
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by phantombeta »

It's not being autoloaded. This is caused by node caching.
Solaela
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:17 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by Solaela »

phantombeta wrote:It's not being autoloaded. This is caused by node caching.
You are officially a fucking legend. Thank you. I mean it wasn't bugging me that I couldn't play it cause of it but it WAS bugging me that I couldn't fix it!
User avatar
Sunbeam
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:38 am

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by Sunbeam »

phantombeta wrote:It's not being autoloaded. This is caused by node caching.
Thanks phantombeta! This is really good to know. I wasn't aware of it before. I've added a note to the first post.


I set up a Discord server for my projects. If you would like to share screenshots of cool deformed maps, please do so there: Discord!🙂
Randomguy7
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 9:51 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by Randomguy7 »

can you mirror maps? I feel like that'd make this one of my goto addons
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by StroggVorbis »

Reminds me of Mario Kart 64. It had a hidden debug feature to scale tracks on their Y-axis. With Action Replay or Gameshark you can make race tracks high enough for the slopes to be too steep to be climbed.

https://tcrf.net/Mario_Kart_64
User avatar
Sunbeam
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:38 am

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by Sunbeam »

Randomguy7 wrote:can you mirror maps? I feel like that'd make this one of my goto addons
No, that's not possible. There's another mod/addon that does this. I *could* add that feature but that would feel like stealing it from the other mod. 😉
Just found it again: Flipper
StroggVorbis wrote:Reminds me of Mario Kart 64. It had a hidden debug feature to scale tracks on their Y-axis. With Action Replay or Gameshark you can make race tracks high enough for the slopes to be too steep to be climbed.

https://tcrf.net/Mario_Kart_64
Ha, cool find. Although it seems that this debug feature does not affect the collision detection. Still interesting. 🙂
(Offtopic: Nice name 😉)
User avatar
MarcosDA
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2022 3:04 pm

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by MarcosDA »

You Maded Than My LZdoom Deform Doom 2 With And Without The Mod :( :( :( :( :(
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

Post by wildweasel »

MarcosDA wrote:You Maded Than My LZdoom Deform Doom 2 With And Without The Mod :( :( :( :( :(
phantombeta wrote:It's not being autoloaded. This is caused by node caching.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”