How to add a custom weapons from Realm667 ?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
skyspear

How to add a custom weapons from Realm667 ?

Post by skyspear »

Hello !

I'm pretty new at making wad and I wanted to ask you know how to add a custom weapons ? I use doom builder and slade 3. I also saw this topic on a forum (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=50388) but I'm sadly stuck to how to add the ID weapons (And I dunno if it's the problem)...

Also I have add that custom weapon with slade 3 directly to my wad, at the top of everything because apparently it was recommended to do that.

But It's actually impossible to see the weapons into the "Things mode" tool of doom builder2 or slade3 (I use doom 2 game configuration). However, the weapon appear if you use the cheat code "give all" in gzdoom.

My goal is to make appear this weapon directly on the "Thing mode", as like I can add the weapon where I want.

Thanks for your help ! ^^
Gez

Re: How to add a custom weapons from Realm667 ?

Post by Gez »

For things to appear in the editor, it needs to have an editor number -- in the map, it's actually just a number that's written, and the editor, like the game, needs to associate the number with something it knows.

Most resources on Realm667 come without an editor number being given to them, so you've got to add one yourself. You do that in [wiki]MAPINFO[/wiki].

For the weapon to work correctly and play nice with other weapons (especially when using next weapon/previous weapon commands), it'll also need a slot number. [wiki]Weapon slots[/wiki] are also handled through MAPINFO.
skyspear

Post by skyspear »

Thank you ! By any chance, do you have a full tutorial to how to do that ?
Kappes Buur

Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Post by Kappes Buur »