[6.2] Corruption Cards - 200+ cards! New Collector mode!

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11347
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [v3!]Corruption Cards - Vanilla, but with twists you cho

Post by Cutmanmike »

Solaela wrote:Though one question comes up. After the actual run I do a 'screw around cheat run' where one of the cards was the cyberdemon card but one failed to show up in e1m8. Any reason why?
In that version it's possible the spawner derped and tried to spawn him in a wall, or tried many locations possible and gave up. This has been improved in the next version, rarely ever failing.
Solaela
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:17 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [v3!]Corruption Cards - Vanilla, but with twists you cho

Post by Solaela »

Cutmanmike wrote:
Solaela wrote:Though one question comes up. After the actual run I do a 'screw around cheat run' where one of the cards was the cyberdemon card but one failed to show up in e1m8. Any reason why?
In that version it's possible the spawner derped and tried to spawn him in a wall, or tried many locations possible and gave up. This has been improved in the next version, rarely ever failing.
Next version? I got the one from here i thought... >_< is there a version out i missed or still wip?
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11347
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [v3!]Corruption Cards - Vanilla, but with twists you cho

Post by Cutmanmike »

Still working on it :)
Solaela
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:17 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [v3!]Corruption Cards - Vanilla, but with twists you cho

Post by Solaela »

Ah ok I get ya :P Still hyped for it to work with modded weps and such!
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11347
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by Cutmanmike »



Alright here's the big update! Please remember this is fairly experimental, and I expect crashes all sorts of weirdness with mods. Nevertheless, it should function with custom monsters and weapons now. Give it a go with your favorites and report back! If the game crashes to the console, please provide a screenshot along with what mods you were using.

Download

Corruption Cards Version 0.4a beta

Changes

System changes:
  • Rewrote from scratch in ZScript (except the ui)! Should work with lots of mods now.
  • No longer compatible with Zandronum.
  • Added a Random Seed generator. You can specify a seed in the options (or ccards_seed cvar) to get offered a same set of cards.
  • Added the Custom game mode to the game selector. You can change the settings of this in the options menu.
  • Monster specific cards are now generated for the game and are not custom tailored. This means Corruption Cards can present monster specific cards from other loaded mods!
  • It is now possible to add your own custom cards, if you know a little Zscript! More info below.
  • Removed the starting deck custom option for now.

    Game changes:
    • Standard mode now starts adding mystery cards every 12 levels instead of 10.
    • Hardcore mode now starts adding mystery cards every 8 levels instead of 5.
    • New card graphics by Rhys.
    • Random spawner method improved. It is faster and tries harder to find a unique spawn location. This effects the random cyberdemon, barrel and monster gang cards.
    • Spawned barrels no longer harm you after teleporting.

    Card changes:
    • Removed "No Health items, but punching heals you" card. While possible to port to zscript in some way, it just wasn't a fun card to get.
    • "Monsters disguised as items" card now only effect monsters with AMBUSH to avoid breaking maps with monster teleports.
    • Monster disguises are now picked based on what items are available in the map.
    • "No armor items" card instead drains your armor rapidly instead of removing armor items from the map.
    • "Monsters explode violently" can now stack.
    • "You may not exceed X health" is now "Your bonus health drains away over time".
    • "Reset your inventory back to Pistol only" is now "Start with your base inventory".
    • "Monster Respawns" card now respawns a monster between 15 and 30 seconds.
    New cards:
    • It's a mystery! Play it and see.
Modding

For those wanting to make their own custom cards for either Doom or a new mod entirely, make your way to the CCARDS.txt lump and zscript/corrutpioncards/cards/examples.txt to see how the format works. Basically you create your card classes in ZScript, and have CCARDS.txt add them in sort of like a DECORATE file. There's almost no limit to what you can do as long as you know a little zscript. Reading zscript/corrutpioncards/cardtypes.txt may also help. Here is how cards are added to the game:

Game Start ->
Find all cards in CCARDS.txt ->
Generate Generic cards for each monster currently in the map ->
Run each cards Init() function ->
Check if tier of card is allowed ->
Check card's Condition() function ->
Add legal Cards to the card pool.

Virtual functions explained:

void Init() - Initalization. This sets up what the card is, what actors it effects, whether it should stack, the description of the card etc.
bool Condition() - The condition for the card to be added to the hand. It can check pretty much anything, but must return true to be added to the card pool. For example, maybe you don't want this card to be offered if the player is a certain class? Or if there are too many monsters in the map? Maybe this card should only be offered as a non-permanent card?
void PreGameStart() - This function is ran after the card selection is made, but before all the other active card functions. This a useful place to fill an array of monsters or gather any other data that wouldn't be appropriate elsewhere.

These functions run for each user of the card, who are defined by the "effect" booleans. The a pointer is not valid for the effectWorld type, so be careful to not use it as it will be null.
void OnDeath(Actor a) - Runs when the user dies. (projectiles need experimentation)
void OnGameStart(Actor a) - Runs on the start of the game.
void OnSpawn(Actor a) - Runs whenver this user is spawned.
void OnRespawn(Actor a) - Runs whenever this user is respawned OR resurrected.
void OnTick(Actor a) - Runs every tick for each user.

I will write better docs on this when the mod is more refined and stable. In the mean time just check out the example files :) Visit the discord channel I have set up if you want some live help.

https://discord.com/invite/Whts7Bj
User avatar
kadu522
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:32 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: Brasil,Rio de janeiro

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by kadu522 »

Ok now this mod is DEFINALY on my radar!

I give it a run with the several mods i have on hand and i sent you some stuff via discord if i find any.

PS: Magamen 8bit deathwatch is amazeing. great job to you and the team behind it. looking foward to V6 when its ready!
User avatar
Linz
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 3:42 pm

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by Linz »

Ah sheit,mod support

Gonna give it a test drive with meta doom and see how that goes
User avatar
SpaceyStrife
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:08 am

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by SpaceyStrife »

Just tried out the new version with Final Doomer + Legion of Bones on Standard, and it works like a charm! All of the cards I got worked as described with the custom monsters and weapons, and cards that had the effect of spawning a random monster correctly chose only custom monsters.

A couple of odd quirks that happened during my run:
- The custom monsters use the names of the vanilla monsters they replace, but that could be a fault on my end since I don't think I actually specified titles for the monsters in Legion of Bones.
- One time when a random monster spawned in, a (custom) Mancubus spawned in the corner of a small room in such a way that it wasn't able to move.

I also love the new card borders!
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11347
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by Cutmanmike »

SpacemanStrife wrote:- The custom monsters use the names of the vanilla monsters they replace, but that could be a fault on my end since I don't think I actually specified titles for the monsters in Legion of Bones.
The name is taken from the "tag" property if it exists. If those monsters inherited the vanilla ones, it will use theirs.
SpacemanStrife wrote:- One time when a random monster spawned in, a (custom) Mancubus spawned in the corner of a small room in such a way that it wasn't able to move.
Assuming that was the "Monster Gang" card? I will look into that.
Solaela
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:17 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by Solaela »

Oh I am SO doing a followup vid when I can on this! ^_^
User avatar
SpaceyStrife
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:08 am

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by SpaceyStrife »

Cutmanmike wrote:Assuming that was the "Monster Gang" card? I will look into that.
It was the "monster spawns every 16 kills" card.
User avatar
Dr_Cosmobyte
Posts: 2816
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:07 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: Killing spiders.

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by Dr_Cosmobyte »

Does any card relies on a specific weapon type or slots?

I ask this because i have one mod which has very few weapons.
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
Posts: 524
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by mamaluigisbagel »

I may have picked the worst possible mod to start with xD I started with Doom 4 Vanilla, which seemed pretty buggy. (zombiemen/possessed corpses didn't finish their death animations, (stopping halfway through the animation) they tried attacking from a distance even though they're supposed to be melee-only in that mod, etc) I assume this has to do with D4V being compatible with everything/dehacked/something like that though.

The only other mod I tried so far was QC:DE which so far worked fine, even with its official and unofficial monster packs. Glad to see this getting mod support, and so far its working fine! (minus D4V currently) I was excited for this mod and showed some friends, and the lack of mod support was a turn-off for them, so hopefully that'll give you some downloads ;P
User avatar
doomfiend
Posts: 526
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:10 am
Location: some where

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by doomfiend »

I'm absolutely going to stream this :p thanks for giving me a heads up over on youtube there @cutmanmike
User avatar
DarkQuill
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:43 am
Location: Australia, MAYTE

Re: [v4 beta] Corruption Cards - Now testing mod support!

Post by DarkQuill »

Tested a bit with FinalDoomer and BeautifulDoom, had a bug once where selecting the permanent Partial Invisibility for my first ever map/run had it carry over to map2. Tested on additional runs and it never happened again.

This was all using the Standard gameplay mode.

Will do heavier/ridiculous testing over the weekend, but this is really cool!

Return to “Gameplay Mods”