Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 26.9.2023

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
Marcelus
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 10.8. 2022

Post by Marcelus »

New sprites
POL4A.png

Mega Sphere

Animation is not good how on original sprite. Maybe redone it later.
MEGAD0.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
NIGHTKILLER05
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:13 pm

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 10.8. 2022

Post by NIGHTKILLER05 »

Great work !!!!
Marcelus
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 10.8. 2022

Post by Marcelus »

NIGHTKILLER05 wrote: Mon Aug 22, 2022 6:57 am Great work !!!!
thank you
Marcelus
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 10.8. 2022

Post by Marcelus »

New
POL2A0_comparison.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
NIGHTKILLER05
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:13 pm

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 10.8. 2022

Post by NIGHTKILLER05 »

Impressive man, thanks for the update!!!

By th way, how cai I use the "HQ TITLEPIC" file with GZdoom?
Marcelus
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 10.8. 2022

Post by Marcelus »

NIGHTKILLER05 wrote: Tue Aug 30, 2022 11:09 am Impressive man, thanks for the update!!!

By th way, how cai I use the "HQ TITLEPIC" file with GZdoom?
create "graphics" folder

put titlepic.png inside and whole folder put inside .pk3 file.
For example
my mod
marcelus_hd_sprites.pk3

open it (double click) and copy paste "graphics" folder with titlepic.png inside. Thats all.
NIGHTKILLER05
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:13 pm

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 10.8. 2022

Post by NIGHTKILLER05 »

Ohh, let me try that, thank you man
Marcelus
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 10.8. 2022

Post by Marcelus »

New download

New brightmaps, 2x skull sprites, mega sphere, some edits on older sprites
Spoiler:
https://www.moddb.com/games/doom/addons ... es-ver-1-0
Marcelus
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 5.9. 2022

Post by Marcelus »

Long time any update here

I did many new textures in vanilla style how replacement for old dhtp pack...



imgur gallery

https://imgur.com/a/yufhZvt

download

https://www.moddb.com/games/doom/addons ... -doors-wip
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
also for sprites was some updates. new medikits and last sphere + many small updates + new brightmaps...

https://imgur.com/a/BPW2SyX

download

https://www.moddb.com/games/doom/addons ... es-ver-1-0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

alter sprites updates





download

https://www.moddb.com/games/doom/addons ... hd-sprites
Gadavre
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2023 2:35 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 7 (64-bit), Core i5 4430, nvidia GTX 1650
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 26.9.2023

Post by Gadavre »

dear developer... This sprite pack causes friezes in some places on the maps, a sharp drop in fps.
For example, on the map number 12 in the game Doom 2
map map12
I've done hundreds of tests. it is without this pack that the gzdoom port works better...
My command line:

setlocal
set engine=gzdoom.exe
set id=-iwad id\DOOM2.wad
set pa=-file pack\zdoom-dhtp.pk3 pack\zscript-fadingcorpses.pk3 pack\skyboxesD2.wad
set pa2=-file pack\marcelus_hd_sprites.pk3 pack\doom_weapons2x.pk3
start %engine% %id% %pw% %pa% %pa2% -exec user.cfg



Please make a light version with high perfomance of this pack
Last edited by Gadavre on Sat Nov 25, 2023 3:11 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 26.9.2023

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

Gadavre wrote: Sat Nov 25, 2023 3:06 am dear developer... This sprite pack causes friezes in some places on the maps, a sharp drop in fps.
This is expected of an HD asset pack. GZDoom has no ability to dynamically unload assets, so everything is put into VRAM and kept there until the end of the map. Using GL Texture precache (or the author setting up precaching via MAPINFO) can improve things in terms of stuttering, but if you're experiencing low FPS due to VRAM filling up, nothing can be done about it outside of not using HD assets or having more VRAM.
Gadavre
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2023 2:35 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 7 (64-bit), Core i5 4430, nvidia GTX 1650
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 26.9.2023

Post by Gadavre »

Jekyll Grim Payne писал(а):
[quote=Gadavre post_id=1247788 time=1700903191 user_id=38956]
> This is expected of an HD asset pack. GZDoom has no ability to dynamically
> unload assets, so everything is put into VRAM and kept there until the end
> of the map. Using GL Texture precache (or the author setting up precaching
> via MAPINFO) can improve things in terms of stuttering,
> [/quote] I used this command in the user.cfg file, but it did not help

gl_precache true

Are there other commands to improve performance?

> [quote=Gadavre post_id=1247788 time=1700903191 user_id=38956]
but if you're experiencing low FPS due to VRAM filling up, nothing can be done about it
> outside of not using HD assets or having more VRAM.
> [/quote]
I'm sure we can try to solve the problem by lowering the quality of the HD textures... but I need to preferably understand how this can be done in a graphic editor... But it would be better if a pack of HD sprites is made by a specialist. who has been working with graphics for a long time.
Last edited by Gadavre on Sat Nov 25, 2023 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 2945
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 26.9.2023

Post by Chris »

Gadavre wrote: Sat Nov 25, 2023 3:06 am dear developer... This sprite pack causes friezes in some places on the maps, a sharp drop in fps.
In addition to what was said about hi-res texture packs causing an increase in VRAM uses that can cause stutters, check that GZDoom's texture upscaling option is turned off. Upscaling textures that are already hi-res will cause much more significant VRAM increase, and turning it off (if it was on) can help bring VRAM usage down to more expected levels.
Gadavre
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2023 2:35 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 7 (64-bit), Core i5 4430, nvidia GTX 1650
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 26.9.2023

Post by Gadavre »

[b]Marcelus[\b]

Please make a light version of your sprites, where the texture resolution will be reduced by 2 times. This can help those who have weak graphics cards.
Marcelus
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 26.9.2023

Post by Marcelus »

Gadavre wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 3:31 am Marcelus[\b]

Please make a light version of your sprites, where the texture resolution will be reduced by 2 times. This can help those who have weak graphics cards.


Hi,
my sprites are optimized for best performance.

Highest sprite is only 620 kb big and smallest only 26 kb. This is minimum what is possible for good quality. I do not know why you have problem with peformance but I have old PC and I do not have any problems . Is many HD packs for Doom around 1 GB big and my have only 30 MB. I do not know how help you but try this.

Wads : Doom and Doom 2 wad put inside where you have installed GzDoom and not load them from other folders (steam, Gog...etc)

GzDoom install on primary system disc (HDD, SSD)

Play under Vulkan if you have problem with performance

Try other GzDoom build

For me best works GzDoom 4.71, 4.82, 4.10

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”