[1.3 WIP] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7402
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: MAP33

Re: [1.2.11] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by Kinsie »

Marisa Kirisame wrote:Edit: OH MY GOD THE CODE FOR THAT MOD IS SO HORRENDOUSLY NAIVE IT'S INTRODUCING MASSIVE BUGS.

OK, so, where do I even start. The damn thing, every time you toggle bullet time, first changes the statnums of any OBJECTS with STAT_SCROLLER to STAT_STATIC... And then when it goes off, it changes the statnums of ALL OBJECTS THAT HAVE STAT_STATIC BACK TO STAT_SCROLLER.

THIS IS SO WRONG, ON SO MANY LEVELS, I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHERE TO BEGIN. IT'S CHANGING MY STATIC THINKERS TO GODDAMN SCROLLERS AND BREAKING THEM.
Marisa Kirisame wrote:Includes some sanity checks to shift the blame of things breaking to other mods (you know who you are).
While I understand that this issue is frustrating, I can't help but think there are less aggressive ways to detail them in the face of an ostensibly new modder, that could help them address their mod's issues without potentially driving them away.
SanyaWaffles
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:21 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 for the Motorola Powerstack II
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: The Corn Fields

Re: [1.2.11] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by SanyaWaffles »

I... couldn't have said it better Kinsie.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: [1.2.11] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I already reported the issue in a less aggressive way in the mod's thread, and the author is aware of the issue.
User avatar
Dutchygamer
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:00 pm

Re: [1.2.14] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by Dutchygamer »

Is there any specific GZDoom Dev build required for 1.2.14? I've tried dev builds 276 and 280 but both point towards 4 errors in the ZScript files of the mod:
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [1.2.14] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by wildweasel »

Those are not new builds; they're several weeks old by now. Get the latest one available from https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdoom/ and run that.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: [1.2.14] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Actually that's a change introduced in recent builds that broke how I do the intermission code. I need to update it.

Oh wait no, those errors are due to the fix itself. You do need to update to a more recent build. Let me track it down.

Edit: Yeah, basically get the latest one that's on DRDTeam right now.

Edit 2: If I'm adding that one as a requirement, I need to do some changes due to deprecated functions too.
User avatar
RubyEyeShabranigdu
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2022 9:03 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Brazil

Re: [1.2.14] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by RubyEyeShabranigdu »

Marisa Kirisame wrote:Actually that's a change introduced in recent builds that broke how I do the intermission code. I need to update it.

Oh wait no, those errors are due to the fix itself. You do need to update to a more recent build. Let me track it down.

Edit: Yeah, basically get the latest one that's on DRDTeam right now.

Edit 2: If I'm adding that one as a requirement, I need to do some changes due to deprecated functions too.
I have downloaded "gzdoom-x64-g4.8pre-371-gf1d017d0f.7z" just to play this MOD!
Totally worth it!

P.S.
I was using the last version compatible with GZDOOM 4.7.1
dudecool1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:13 pm

Re: [1.2.20] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by dudecool1 »

This is just a question but how do you change the size of the hud? I can't seem to find it in the menu options.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: [1.2.20] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I'm afraid the HUD size can't be changed. It is designed in a specific way so all elements fit together without any overlaps. This used to be different in the past, but fixed scaling was added to simplify a lot of code.

What is the issue with this? I could add some alternate scaling mode as an accessibility option if needed.
dudecool1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:13 pm

Re: [1.2.20] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by dudecool1 »

I think my issue with the HUD (on my PC at least) is that is takes up most of the screen.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: [1.2.20] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by Marisa the Magician »

What's your resolution?
dudecool1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:13 pm

Re: [1.2.20] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by dudecool1 »

My resolution is set at 1920 x 1080
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: [1.2.20] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Then, there should be no issue with the scaling.

This is the intended size of the HUD, and its scale is fully automated to fit any resolution as closely as possible without any overlaps, and occluding as little as possible while remaining readable.
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [1.2.20] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by mamaluigisbagel »

I think its down to preference. I've seen a content creator who likes his hud to be at the lowest scaling, so its extremely hard to see. (at least for me)
User avatar
DoomThing445
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 3:25 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [1.2.20] Codename: DEMOLITIONIST

Post by DoomThing445 »

I decided to read on the lore and iwad-based dialogue in the mod, it's fantastic. Any plans to extend such to iwads like Plutonia or TNT: Evilution? And maybe some map packs too?

Return to “Abandoned/Dead Projects”