[Duke3D] Widescreen Weapon Sprites Question

User avatar
sinisterseed
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

[Duke3D] Widescreen Weapon Sprites Question

Post by sinisterseed »

Not sure if I should have made this here instead of the other subforums but okay.

I've recently discovered this package and I've been meaning to use for the time being, but one problem - I am a Build illiterate, and I have no idea how to use them...

https://forums.duke4.net/topic/8922-wid ... d-sprites/
User avatar
Phredreeke
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:14 am

Re: [Duke3D] Widescreen Weapon Sprites Question

Post by Phredreeke »

You can download Nightfright's fixes package here which incorporates them https://github.com/NightFright2k19/duke3dfix
User avatar
sinisterseed
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Duke3D] Widescreen Weapon Sprites Question

Post by sinisterseed »

I've recently discovered that mod too, however it has other extras I'm not interested in, I'm only interested in the widescreen weapons so far.

Which I don't know how to use. This makes me feel so dumb...
User avatar
Phredreeke
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:14 am

Re: [Duke3D] Widescreen Weapon Sprites Question

Post by Phredreeke »

Delete GAME.CON from the package. Open up duke3d_fixes.def and remove the line saying

include tiles/redfont13.def

You might want to add

include tiles/skyboxes.def

Nightfright removed them after EDuke32 added proper rendering of Polymost skies. IMO they look much better than the standard skies. However enabling them you'll get the wrong skies in the expansions and possibly also user addons.

Return to “General”