Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

PandaDoomer wrote:
EmperorGrieferus wrote:How am I supposed to launch the mod on the older versions of GZDoom?
What do you mean?
I tried (This was even when files were not renamed).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
PandaDoomer
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: USA

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by PandaDoomer »

EmperorGrieferus wrote:
PandaDoomer wrote:
EmperorGrieferus wrote:How am I supposed to launch the mod on the older versions of GZDoom?
What do you mean?
I tried (This was even when files were not renamed).
Are you sure that's the most recent version of the file? I don't see any textures named "NEWDOOMA" in the current version.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by Enjay »

That is a VERY old version of GZDoom. It possibly doesn't have support for the filter folders feature, which is how this mod is organised internally. You could probably edit the mod to find the particular logo that you need and move the relevant graphics into a graphics folder inside the PK3 instead of a sub-folder of filter.

[edit] Yes. also, as PanadaDoomer said, that's not a graphic from this mod.

The animdefs in full is:

Code: Select all

// Animated M_DOOMs by Avery (PandaDoomer @ zdoom forums)
// filtered by NightFright

texture m_doom
pic m_dooma tics 32
pic m_doomb tics 3
pic m_doomc tics 3
pic m_doomd tics 3
pic m_doome tics 3
pic m_doomf tics 3
pic m_doomg tics 3
pic m_doomh tics 3
pic m_doomi tics 3
pic m_doomi tics 3
pic m_doomj tics 3
pic m_doomk tics 3
pic m_dooml tics 3
pic m_doomm tics 3
pic m_doomn tics 3
pic m_doomo tics 3
pic m_doomp tics 3
pic m_doomq tics 3
pic m_doomr tics 3
pic m_dooms tics 3
pic m_doomt tics 3
pic m_doomu tics 32
oscillate
No NEWDOOMA


[/edit]
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13097
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by Rachael »

Why are you using a version of GZDoom so old?

Try 4.7.0, if you have older hardware start it in OpenGL ES mode.
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

Rachael wrote:Why are you using a version of GZDoom so old?

Try 4.7.0, if you have older hardware start it in OpenGL ES mode.
"640K ought to be enough for anybody" - if seriously, I just like it (Definitely not because it's the last version with palette LUT that is not screwed up), plus it runs faster and can launch most of the mods I play (By which I mean Smooth Doom, of course).
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

Enjay wrote:That is a VERY old version of GZDoom. It possibly doesn't have support for the filter folders feature, which is how this mod is organised internally. You could probably edit the mod to find the particular logo that you need and move the relevant graphics into a graphics folder inside the PK3 instead of a sub-folder of filter.

[edit] Yes. also, as PanadaDoomer said, that's not a graphic from this mod.

The animdefs in full is:

Code: Select all

// Animated M_DOOMs by Avery (PandaDoomer @ zdoom forums)
// filtered by NightFright

texture m_doom
pic m_dooma tics 32
pic m_doomb tics 3
pic m_doomc tics 3
pic m_doomd tics 3
pic m_doome tics 3
pic m_doomf tics 3
pic m_doomg tics 3
pic m_doomh tics 3
pic m_doomi tics 3
pic m_doomi tics 3
pic m_doomj tics 3
pic m_doomk tics 3
pic m_dooml tics 3
pic m_doomm tics 3
pic m_doomn tics 3
pic m_doomo tics 3
pic m_doomp tics 3
pic m_doomq tics 3
pic m_doomr tics 3
pic m_dooms tics 3
pic m_doomt tics 3
pic m_doomu tics 32
oscillate
No NEWDOOMA


[/edit]
I renamed the files manually.
Even if I use the native file names, there will be the exact same error.
And even if I remove the filter folders, there will the the exact same error.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by Enjay »

It's certainly strange because, as you can see from what I posted, the animdefs does not have a reference to NEWDOOMA on line 2, or any other line for that matter, but GZDoom certainly seems to be pointing to that file.

I guess it's possible that the version of GZDoom that you are using had a bug and its error reporting wasn't as good as it should have been (i.e. it's pointing to the wrong file). What happens if you load only this mod?
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

Enjay wrote:It's certainly strange because, as you can see from what I posted, the animdefs does not have a reference to NEWDOOMA on line 2, or any other line for that matter, but GZDoom certainly seems to be pointing to that file.

I guess it's possible that the version of GZDoom that you are using had a bug and its error reporting wasn't as good as it should have been (i.e. it's pointing to the wrong file). What happens if you load only this mod?
I launch only this mod.
I will prove you, that even using the unchanged version will cause the error.
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

Here you go.
My opinion - 2.4.0 doesn't support animated titles, since Zandronum also can't launch the mod.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
PandaDoomer
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: USA

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by PandaDoomer »

EmperorGrieferus wrote:Here you go.
My opinion - 2.4.0 doesn't support animated titles, since Zandronum also can't launch the mod.
Yup, filtering isn't supported then. Update your GZDoom like Rachael suggested.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13097
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by Rachael »

EmperorGrieferus wrote:"640K ought to be enough for anybody"
There was a grand total of one whole year where that quote would have had any truth to it. And that year would've been before I was even born.

If you're going to stick to outdated stuff, then you're stuck with outdated stuff. You can't have your cake and eat it too.
User avatar
PandaDoomer
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: USA

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by PandaDoomer »

EmperorGrieferus wrote:
Rachael wrote:Why are you using a version of GZDoom so old?

Try 4.7.0, if you have older hardware start it in OpenGL ES mode.
"640K ought to be enough for anybody" - if seriously, I just like it (Definitely not because it's the last version with palette LUT that is not screwed up), plus it runs faster and can launch most of the mods I play (By which I mean Smooth Doom, of course).
Clearly ain't launching this one though. :lol:
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

Okay, I am sincerely sorry for this cyberbullying session, since I founf out, that 2.4.0 uses "doom.doom1/doom2" folder name instead of "doom.id.doom1/doom2".
Another problem solved itself.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by Enjay »

I'd still be interested to know where that NEWDOOMA message is coming from though. I had a quick look inside the ANIMDEFS for Smooth doom and it looks like this:

Code: Select all

texture optional M_SKULL1
	pic NEWSKULA tics 12
	pic NEWSKULB tics 3
	pic NEWSKULC tics 3
	pic NEWSKULD tics 3
	pic NEWSKULC tics 3
	pic NEWSKULB tics 3
So, no NEWDOOMA, but the naming system is similar. Could it be an older version, or NEWDOOMA is hidden elsewhere inside Smooth Doom?
EmperorGrieferus
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:39 am

Re: Xbox style animated M_DOOMs for Doom 1/2/Complete

Post by EmperorGrieferus »

Enjay wrote:I'd still be interested to know where that NEWDOOMA message is coming from though. I had a quick look inside the ANIMDEFS for Smooth doom and it looks like this:

Code: Select all

texture optional M_SKULL1
	pic NEWSKULA tics 12
	pic NEWSKULB tics 3
	pic NEWSKULC tics 3
	pic NEWSKULD tics 3
	pic NEWSKULC tics 3
	pic NEWSKULB tics 3
So, no NEWDOOMA, but the naming system is similar. Could it be an older version, or NEWDOOMA is hidden elsewhere inside Smooth Doom?
I put it in my version of Smooth Doom. So, there's no such files in older versions, but I indeed used skull sprite names for inspiration

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”