[0.4.2][Duke3D] No random sounds when open main menu in game

Moderator: Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
PlayerLin
Posts: 574
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:20 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.

[0.4.2][Duke3D] No random sounds when open main menu in game

Post by PlayerLin »

Well it's not game-break bug...just...uh well it's thing since vanilla Duke...

In Raze, no random game sounds get plays when open main menu in game.

After start a game(new game or load savegame) on Duke3D, when you press ESC to bring out the main menu, it should be plays one of random sound, maybe weapon firing sound, or explosion sound, the sound when something squished or Duke's "ooh" sound when he's taking falling damage. It's random and you'll heard different ones when every time you hit of ESC to make the main menu appears.

It happens with vanilla Duke3D versions and all Duke3D source ports(except World Tour, since it's using its own main menu), since Raze still using original game's menu style from EDuke32 so I guess it should be exist too. :P
User avatar
sinisterseed
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [0.4.2][Duke3D] No random sounds when open main menu in

Post by sinisterseed »

Cross-checked with the latest build of eduke as of today and indeed, there's a variety of sounds that play when opening the menu, ranging from Duke pain sounds to weapons, explosions, enemy noises, and so on. Raze does nothing right now.

This is probably a script somewhere or something that disappeared when the menus were swapped.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48358
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.4.2][Duke3D] No random sounds when open main menu in

Post by Graf Zahl »

fixed. This was simply forgotten when implementing the new menu sound function.

Return to “Closed Bugs [Raze]”