[0.4.0-1054356] -addcon/-mx does not work.

Moderator: Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 800
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

[0.4.0-1054356] -addcon/-mx does not work.

Post by mjr4077au »

Error occurs that the con file cannot be found, whether in the same directory as raze.exe, a directory picked up with game data or an absolute path.

Code: Select all

game.con:8531: error: could not find file `dc_user.con'.
The backtick in the file name is just from the error printing and is not representative of me sourcing the file incorrectly.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48346
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.4.0-1054356] -addcon/-mx does not work.

Post by Graf Zahl »

I need a runnable example to check this out.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 800
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

Re: [0.4.0-1054356] -addcon/-mx does not work.

Post by mjr4077au »

1. Extract cons.zip to 'cons' folder in Raze directory. These cons fix some bugs and issues reported in the con files included in duke3d.grp.
2. Extract dc_user.con to the Raze directory. After specifying the cons folder, the 3rd episode in the menu will no longer be named 'Duke it out in DC'. Specifying this con file to be added after loading the others repairs this.
3. Run 'raze.exe -addon 1 -j "cons" -mx "dc_user.con"'.
4. See reported error that con file 'dc_user.con' was not found.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 800
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

Re: [0.4.0-1054356] -addcon/-mx does not work.

Post by mjr4077au »

As a side note, loading it like this does work:

Code: Select all

-j "dc_hrp/script" -mx "dc_user.con"
In EDuke32, I'd load it like this:

Code: Select all

-mx "dc_hrp/script/dc_user.con"
I'm happy enough with the workaround personally, will leave it up to you whether its kept open or not but I think -mx should still be able to open a file from a subfolder or the running/working directory.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48346
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.4.0-1054356] -addcon/-mx does not work.

Post by Graf Zahl »

This is a difference in file system behavior. Raze requires mounting of all data, the original Build file system does a real file search. Apparently some directory does not get mounted although it should. No big deal, should be relatively easy to fix.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48346
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.4.0-1054356] -addcon/-mx does not work.

Post by Graf Zahl »

This is actually quite simple and a misunderstanding of how things work. The directory Raze.exe is in and its subdirectories are never mounted into the file system for robustness reasons, unless they are the actual game directory. Remember: Raze is an engine supporting multiple games and all the data in here would otherwise be loaded into all games. Just as an example, my own one contains 40 files I accumulated for testing that'd pretty much whack any of the games that are supported if they were unconditionally mounted. The loading order normally is as follows:

1. raze.pk3
2. Main game resource file, for Duke it's duke3d.grp
3. Any additional resource files specified in GRPINFO. For Duke there are none, though.
4. The entire directory the main game resource file is found in, including its subdirectories.

All other content must be explicitly specified, that includes your dc_defs.con file.

Return to “Closed Bugs [Raze]”