[0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Moderator: Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
markanini
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:10 am

[0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Post by markanini »

This works fine

Code: Select all

raze.exe /j "awesomemod.zip" -ini "file.ini"
But this doesnt

Code: Select all

raze.exe /j "awesomemod.zip" -ini "subfolder/file.ini"
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48358
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Post by Graf Zahl »

Works fine here. Please post a runnable example that produces the error.
markanini
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:10 am

Re: [0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Post by markanini »

This is an example of a zip that has issues https://www.moddb.com/games/blood/addon ... st-episode when I try to run it errors: "Initialization: lostblood\lostblood.ini does not exist".
Trying

Code: Select all

raze.exe /j "Lostblood.zip" -ini "lostblood\lostblood.ini"
and

Code: Select all

raze.exe /j "Lostblood.zip\lostblood" -ini "lostblood.ini"
causes the same type of error.
I can make run I once I reassemble the zip so it contains no subfolders.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 803
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

Re: [0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Post by mjr4077au »

I think you forward shashes and not backslashes.
markanini
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:10 am

Re: [0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Post by markanini »

mjr4077au wrote:I think you forward shashes and not backslashes.
I tried both ways, still errors.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48358
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Post by Graf Zahl »

Not really surprising. First, the way this mod is set up it cannot be run without unpacking it first. The references to the maps in the INI do not work inside the zip file because they have no path.
Second, the INI is called "blood.ini", not "lostblood.ini".
User avatar
wolfmanfp
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 11:44 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Hungary

Re: [0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Post by wolfmanfp »

User avatar
Phredreeke
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:14 am

Re: [0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Post by Phredreeke »

...I think you'll have to be more specific than that. What are we supposed to look at?

I'd like to add that loading INIs in subfolders inside ZIP files does work in BloodGDX, I presume it considers the location of the INI file as root.

IMO care needs to be taken when considering this.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48358
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [0.4.0] [Blood] Subfolders in .Zip mods don't work

Post by Graf Zahl »

I think NBlood just ignores the path to some data. Whether that's a good think I'll leave up to debate. Unfortunately Blood's entire file system implementation is an even bigger mess than Ken's and NBlood recreated the entire thing to the last detail and then adds some glue code for mods on top of it to make it a bit easier to handle.

I think what should be done in a case like this is to do the same thing as in GZDoom - just strip the container's path off it.

Return to “Closed Bugs [Raze]”