Raze officially revealed!

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21500
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by wildweasel »

Bigbad75 wrote:WOW this look's great, when is it coming out
It already is: viewtopic.php?f=347&t=67228
Gamerwarrior117
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Gamerwarrior117 »

so will this eventually allow doom wads an doom mods to be supported?
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21500
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by wildweasel »

Gamerwarrior117 wrote:so will this eventually allow doom wads an doom mods to be supported?
No. Raze is not a Doom port.
randir14
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2020 3:36 pm

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by randir14 »

I'm using Raze with One Unit Whole Blood, is there a way to get the postprocessing settings from GZdoom such as bloom and ambient occlusion? My postprocessing menu only has lens distortion, FXAA, dither and tonemap.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48324
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Graf Zahl »

Later, yes. But these two features essentially require a new renderer. The output by the Polymost renderer is too broken to run lighting passes in screen space on it.
User avatar
Tea Monster
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:08 am

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Tea Monster »

Let us know when you have something useable. I'll test it out on the HHR mod.
User avatar
CBM
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:39 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: The Shores of Hell

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by CBM »

Very cool and I can confirm that all build engine games Ive tried with this seems to work perfectly so far

Well done
Acoma
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 9:14 pm

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Acoma »

Hey is there a way to get the music to play on exhumed/powerslave currently? i read somewhere that you have to mount the redbook audio via dosbox commands but where do i get the music in the first place? do i already have it? does it work in raze or is that to be implemented?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48324
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Graf Zahl »

The music should work with a recent devbuild, the naming was different than what the engine was looking for.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17684
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Gez »

Same as with other games, you have to have a music/ directory with the ripped soundtrack in it. Files have to be named exhumed02.ogg, exhumed03.ogg, etc. though the latest dev builds also accept track02.ogg, track03.ogg, etc. because that's how you can find them installed in the GOG.com re-release.
Acoma
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 9:14 pm

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Acoma »

yep that worked, the gog version music works fine once you rename them from 'track' to 'exhumed'. i had another EX version of the game where the music was in a 'ramses' folder and once they were renamed they were out of order

side note in raze powerslave the arm sprite on death doesnt have a widescreen fix and is cut off on the sides and in duke 3d duke's landing frame shows a frame of a female dancer

other than that raze is working amazingly well, i especially like the inclusion of the minimum screen scale, palette options, and soundfont options! thanks a lot for making this
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48324
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Graf Zahl »

With the just released 0.8.0 the music will work out of the box.
User avatar
Tea Monster
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:08 am

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Tea Monster »

I see that model support is in. What renderer does it use and is there a wiki guide on how to add your own textures and models to a Raze mod?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48324
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Graf Zahl »

The current renderer is still Polymost, although this is not supposed to be permanent - to add advanced rendering features we need something else.
For the rest, nothing has changed compared to other Build engine ports. All existing model definition documentaion - provided you can find something - still applies.

For textures the same applies. You have to supply new .ART files if you want to add/override existing textures, although there are plans to make this more flexible in the future.
User avatar
Tea Monster
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:08 am

Re: Raze officially revealed!

Post by Tea Monster »

OK. Cheers.

Return to “ZDoom (and related) News”