Ultimate Doom Builder

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder, Slade, WadSmoosh, Oblige, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Laskow
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 7:35 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Laskow »

I've updated UDB from r3663 to r4056 several days ago, and thanks for adding the feature that changing the linedef's brightness for each upper/middle/lower textures.

By the way, though I'm not sure whether I should ask it or not, is this possible to add the user variable which using enum or array through zscript?
Like "automapstyle" in Linedef custom property, it would be nice if I could choose one of the parameters such as a drop-down menu.

[EDIT] Changed some words that might cause misunderstanding.
Last edited by Laskow on Sat Jun 03, 2023 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1536
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by ramon.dexter »

I have to confirm that UDB works well on steamOS with proton 8.0.x. Just installed it tested by opening various maps. Map editing works, as well as 3D mode. Very nice.
User avatar
axredneck
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:09 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russia

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by axredneck »

ramon.dexter wrote: Sat Jun 03, 2023 2:35 amI have to confirm that UDB works well on steamOS with proton 8.0.x.
UDB has native Linux version, no Proton needed.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1536
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by ramon.dexter »

Which you have to compile yourself. While I cant download proper compiling tools on steamos, i need to stick to the windows version.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13608
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Rachael »

With Steam OS you're more often better off just sticking to Windows versions of things. If you do use Linux versions of stuff and it has dependencies, they will get wiped with every system update which makes things incredibly inconvenient. It was designed from the ground up to be compatible with both Linux and Windows stuff, and ironically despite being a Linux OS it is better with Windows things for people who are not as technically inclined. That's why we always push the Windows versions of GZDoom/Raze when people have problems with them on Steam OS.
User avatar
DELTAtheDboi005
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2022 3:43 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by DELTAtheDboi005 »

I found a bug, it involves models. It goes like this: Spawn a model that's in the .obj format, then go into visual mode. It will crash every time you try and do this but the crash is very inconsistent and appears to be dependent on the complexity of the model, a simple box won't cause this crash, but more complex models will crash the editor because they have more vertices, faces, edges, and the works on that model if that makes sense. See if you can fix this when you have the time.
User avatar
DELTAtheDboi005
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2022 3:43 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by DELTAtheDboi005 »

DELTAtheDboi005 wrote: Tue Jun 13, 2023 3:20 am I found a bug, it involves models. It goes like this: Spawn a model that's in the .obj format, then go into visual mode. It will crash every time you try and do this but the crash is very inconsistent and appears to be dependent on the complexity of the model, a simple box won't cause this crash, but more complex models will crash the editor because they have more vertices, faces, edges, and the works on that model if that makes sense. See if you can fix this when you have the time.


here's some more info:

I went ahead and deliberately made a actor that causes this crash just so I can show you what it tells me when it does crash

********EXCEPTION DETAILS********
Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection.
Wo0p87
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2023 11:41 am

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Wo0p87 »

Hello there!

I'm enjoying the heck out of Ultimate Doom Builder but I'm wondering if there are any plans to add an option to extract the textures you have used in your map to a folder for easy and quick adding to your project pk3. I'm wondering this because clearly there's a script in the program that already recognises which textures you have used so all you have to do is find the texture names in UDB and your texture packs. This would be a tremendous help for mappers who use alot of different texture packs and the only other program that does something similar that I know of is DoomTools... only that only works for WADs and not PK3s sadly.

So yeah. Any plans to add such a feature? I'm not a coder so I've no idea if its possible even, but it just seems like a small step since we're already providing the program the file locations to all our resources and it already has a script to find the textures we used by highlighting them. Thanks for your time :)
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Kappes Buur »

Wo0p87 wrote: Mon Jun 19, 2023 12:00 pm ... but I'm wondering if there are any plans to add an option to extract the textures you have used in your map to a folder ,,,
That has been asked many times but there are no plans to incorporate this into UDB, as I have been told, for the simple reason that UDB is a map editor and not a lump editor.

There are several ways to accomplish this though:
  • use Hakros Texmapper, I find it easiest
  • use Slade 3.2.4 in Archive Maintenence mode, supposedly very simple
  • use DoomTools, I do not find it that easy
Mad_Dal_85
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2023 11:38 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Mad_Dal_85 »

Since the latest update (which was yesterday,) Tag 1 in sectors ends up damaging you at like 25-30 HP per second. No doubt this is an update f--k up as they seem to update UDB every single day! Why? I do not know. The updates are more frequent than my Google chromebook and that's saying something! Until they fix the Tag 1 issue, I recommend you start with Tag 2 and continue upwards.
SanyaWaffles
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:21 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 for the Motorola Powerstack II
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: The Corn Fields

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by SanyaWaffles »

Report the bug then on Github rather than making passive aggressive statements.

That said this doesn't make sense.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4129
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Kappes Buur »

Mad_Dal_85 wrote: Thu Jul 20, 2023 11:43 am Since the latest update (which was yesterday,) Tag 1 in sectors ends up damaging you at like 25-30 HP per second. No doubt this is an update f--k up as they seem to update UDB every single day! Why? I do not know. The updates are more frequent than my Google chromebook and that's saying something! Until they fix the Tag 1 issue, I recommend you start with Tag 2 and continue upwards.
  • Today is July 20, the latest update (r4079) was July 15, so not yesterday
  • Giving a sector an id tag 1 does not give it a damaging effect.
  • For why updates occur you should read the Changelog.txt
User avatar
bimshwel
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:15 pm
Location: misplaced

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by bimshwel »

ImageImage

I noticed that ultimate doom builder seems to render a "wallsprite" as if its x-offset is exactly half the sprite length regardless of what the offset actually is, while gzdoom differentiates;

ImageImage
I can "correct" where they show up in the game by altering the sprite offsets, formerly 0, to be half their lengths, and they remain unchanged in the editor.

The up pointing one is still in the wrong spot even after the correction because it has "roll" on it and so consistency between the two programs is more important with regard to that. Even if you think I shouldn't use wallsprites for this, surely a better usage would also benefit.

doombuilder doesn't seem to apply texture color translations either but that isn't as big an issue. Apart from me not realizing those purples really don't work until right just now.
boris
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by boris »

What version of UDB are you using? There was an issue where for PNG sprites the center of the image was used when the PNG didn't have offsets, but that was fixed nearly 3 years ago.

If you're using R4079 or later please provide a minimal working example.
User avatar
bimshwel
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:15 pm
Location: misplaced

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by bimshwel »

according to the about menu the version is 3.0.0.4042 (f8c6e78)
I believe I have recreated the issue in the attached wad here
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Return to “Creation, Conversion, and Editing”