Passing variables to "out" Vector2/3 parameters doesn't work

These bugs do plan to be resolved, when they can be.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Passing variables to "out" Vector2/3 parameters doesn't work

Postby phantombeta » Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:26 am

As it says in the thread title, you can't pass variables as to Vector2/3 out parameters. Turns out there's some other issue my fix doesn't deal with. Heap-allocated values (e.g., member variables) can be passed just fine, while stack-allocated values (e.g., local variables) just crash GZDoom.
There seems to be two issues - First, it seems like it may still be calculating the wrong amount of parameters in the function call code. Second, there must be some issue where it doesn't correctly calculate or pass the vector's memory address.
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: Brazil, South America, Earth, Orion-Cygnus Arm, Milky Way
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Passing variables to "out" Vector2/3 parameters doesn't

Postby phantombeta » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:01 am

Turns out the reason for this is that, when it's a FxLocalVariable, it still emits shit as if it were a vector instead of a pointer. FxStructMember (used for struct and class members) works, though, so I'm not sure what the hell's up with this.
I have no idea how to deal with this crap.
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: Brazil, South America, Earth, Orion-Cygnus Arm, Milky Way
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Passing variables to "out" Vector2/3 parameters doesn't

Postby Major Cooke » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:31 am

Well, if it works for structs being treated as pointers, would it be possible to export DVector2/3 to ZScript somehow? That would allow for treating it like a pointer then, though that might ax any possibility of adding dynamic array support for it.
User avatar
Major Cooke
QZDoom Maintenance Team
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: Passing variables to "out" Vector2/3 parameters doesn't

Postby Apeirogon » Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:59 am

It still happens in 4.4.2.
Error message btw "Unexpected JIT error : Unknown REGT value passed to EmitPARAM".
Test example
vector_in_out_bug.zip

Load it, start new game and type into console "summon v_bug". As soon as console is start closing vm abort happens.

In some cases Gzdoom just print "Unexpected JIT error : Unknown REGT value passed to EmitPARAM" message into console without vm abort, destroying actor that cause this.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017


Return to On Hold Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests